W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-voice@w3.org > January to March 2001

Speech Synthesis markup language - COST258 comments

From: <Alex.Monaghan@Aculab.com>
Date: Fri, 19 Jan 2001 09:31:29 -0000
Message-ID: <0AEF0EB21F09D211AE4E0080C82733BF01799C36@mailhost.aculab.com>
To: www-voice@w3.org, eric.keller@imm.unil.ch, anichsid@tcd.ie, ales.dobnikar@ijs.si, andrew.breen@sys.uea.ac.uk, wirth@berkom.de, arne.kjell.foldvik@hf.ntnu.no, bastiaan@speech.kth.se, pfister@tik.ee.ethz.ch, Beat.Siebenhaar-Rolli@imm.unil.ch, vancoile@elis.rug.ac.be, bjorn@speech.kth.se, vox-institute@swissonline.ch, Brigitte.ZellnerKeller@imm.unil.ch, cegobl@tcd.ie, cwi@ikp.uni-bonn.de, traber@tik.ee.ethz.ch, gibbon@spectrum.uni-bielefeld.de, daniel.hirst@lpl.univ-aix.fr, Danielle.Duez@lpl.univ-aix.fr, davidh@speech.kth.se, dfreitas@fe.up.pt, e.a.bosgoed@research.kpn.com, erbanga@tsc.uvigo.es, erank@nt.tuwien.ac.at, Genevieve.Caelen@lpl.univ-aix.fr, fries@berkom.de, Georg.E.Ottesen@informatics.sintef.no, giorg_t@ilsp.gr, bailly@icp.grenet.fr, g.kubin@ieee.org, jorgengb@tele.ntnu.no, eduardo@gaps.ssr.upm.es, flach@eakss1.et.tu-dresden.de, halewijn@elis.rug.ac.be, hannes@ai.univie.ac.at, mixdorff@tfh-berlin.de, harald@ai.univie.ac.at, ignasi@gps.tsc.upc.es, terken@ipo.tue.nl, TUCKOVA@feld.cvut.cz, jeskab@elis.rug.ac.be, joaopt@ipb.pt, jon-emil.natvig@telenor.com, pardo@die.upm.es, juancho@die.upm.es, karim.nedir@swisscom.com, kst@ikp.uni-bonn.de, kjellg@speech.kth.se, Luis.Oliveira@inesc.pt, marie.dohalska@ff.cuni.cz, mark@phonetics.ucl.ac.uk, martti.vainio@helsinki.fi, mike.edgington@speechworks.com, nrp@cphling.dk, Jean-Luc.Olives@hut.fi, oa@cpk.auc.dk, Pedro.Carvalho@inesc.pt, per-olav.heggtveit@telenor.com, pm@cphling.dk, pwa@ikp.uni-bonn.de, guekos@iqe.phys.ethz.ch, r.n.j.veldhuis@tue.nl, cordoba@die.upm.es, vich@ure.cas.cz, rolf@speech.kth.se, kom@eakss1.et.tu-dresden.de, sehhati@cs.tu-berlin.de, stefan.werner@joensuu.fi, stepheni@cstr.ed.ac.uk, sverre.stensby@informatics.sintef.no, torbjorn@tele.ntnu.no, unto.laine@hut.fi, auberge@icp.inpg.fr, jantzen@tik.ee.ethz.ch, wgh@ikp.uni-bonn.de, xsalgado@tsc.uvigo.es
Dear colleagues,
Here are the comments of COST 258 on the proposed W3C Speech Synthesis
Markup Language. Tyhis is a revised version of the plain text draft which
was circulated in December.
We believe that the current proposal should be amended in various important
(but not necessarily major) respects in order to fulfil its aims of
multilinguality, interoperability and implementability in current
synthesisers. We also believe that the formulation of such a universal
standard may be premature, and that the possibility of unforeseen needs or
difficulties in treating less commonly synthesised languages (e.g. Spanish
or Chinese) should be catered for in the current proposal.
The attached HTML file contains our detailed comments and suggestions.
With best wishes,
Alex Monaghan
(for COST 258)

 <<response.htm>> 


Received on Friday, 19 January 2001 04:32:39 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 30 October 2006 12:48:53 GMT