W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-tag@w3.org > January 2012

Re: HTML5 proposes introduction of new family of URI schemes

From: Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>
Date: Thu, 19 Jan 2012 17:49:39 +0100
Message-ID: <4F1849A3.9070009@gmx.de>
To: Robin Berjon <robin@berjon.com>
CC: "Eric J. Bowman" <eric@bisonsystems.net>, David Booth <david@dbooth.org>, "www-tag@w3.org List" <www-tag@w3.org>, Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>, Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>, Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>
On 2012-01-19 17:41, Robin Berjon wrote:
> On Jan 19, 2012, at 17:09 , Eric J. Bowman wrote:
>> This is the first I'm hearing of this, and I'm tired of being
>> blindsided by greenfield protocol-layer solutions to problems I never
>> knew we had, arising from standardization work on a markup language...
>
> How is the web platform expected to be viable if it cannot perform some tasks that are trivial for installed applications? In what way is this API a protocol-layer solution?

I'm pretty sure that registering an URI scheme on Windows requires admin 
privileges...

 > ...

Best regards, Julian
Received on Thursday, 19 January 2012 16:50:26 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Thursday, 26 April 2012 12:48:44 GMT