W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-tag@w3.org > January 2003

RE: Clarifying what a URL identifies (Four Uses of a URL)

From: Dare Obasanjo <dareo@microsoft.com>
Date: Tue, 21 Jan 2003 13:34:05 -0800
Message-ID: <B885BEDCB3664E4AB1C72F1D85CB29F804B7C82A@RED-MSG-10.redmond.corp.microsoft.com>
To: "Tim Bray" <tbray@textuality.com>, "Sandro Hawke" <sandro@w3.org>
Cc: "Michael Mealling" <michael@neonym.net>, "David Booth" <dbooth@w3.org>, <www-tag@w3.org>, "Roy T. Fielding" <fielding@apache.org>, "Dan Connolly" <connolly@w3.org>

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Tim Bray [mailto:tbray@textuality.com] 
> Sent: Tuesday, January 21, 2003 1:02 PM
> To: Sandro Hawke
> Cc: Michael Mealling; David Booth; www-tag@w3.org; Roy T. 
> Fielding; Dan Connolly
> 
> 
> Sandro Hawke wrote:
> 
> > URIs are strings which are used for different things in different 
> > situations, in a manner controlled by the semantics of the 
> situation.
> 
> On the other hand, using the same URI to mean different 
> things is a Bad Thing and leads to confusion and misbehavior 
> not only at the Semantic Web level but in terms of general 
> human utility.  

No matter how forcefully you state it you cannot get around the fact
that people will use both http://www.25hoursaday.com to refer to me as a
person or to whatever representation is returned by Apache when an HTTP
GET is performed. It seems that you are implying that a Semantic Web
based on URIs is broken [as designed?]. 

> It's a formalism.  The Web Architecture has a formalism 
> called a "Resource" which is the one thing that corresponds 
> to each URI. 

This statement is meaningless and yet W3C TAG members keep repeating it.
What is the one resource that the URI "http://www.w3.org/Consortium/"
identifies? 

-- 
PITHY WORDS OF WISDOM 
An expert is one who knows more and more about less and less until he
knows absolutely everything about nothing.                            

This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
rights. 
Received on Tuesday, 21 January 2003 16:34:49 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Thursday, 26 April 2012 12:47:15 GMT