W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-style@w3.org > May 2013

Re: [css-color] Have you considered standardizing a rgba(#RRGGBB, <alpha-value>) notation?

From: Chris Eppstein <chris@eppsteins.net>
Date: Thu, 9 May 2013 20:53:08 -0700
Message-Id: <EAE59835-9512-49A3-A48C-5AC62FBB60EC@eppsteins.net>
Cc: Rik Cabanier <cabanier@gmail.com>, Alan Gresley <alan@css-class.com>, Sebastian Zartner <sebastianzartner@gmail.com>, Sam L'ecuyer <sam@cateches.is>, Brad Kemper <brad.kemper@gmail.com>, François REMY <francois.remy.dev@outlook.com>, Lea Verou <lea@w3.org>, Jake Archibald <jaffathecake@gmail.com>, Šime Vidas <sime.vidas@gmail.com>, www-style list <www-style@w3.org>
To: "Tab Atkins Jr." <jackalmage@gmail.com>
Sass *is* a kind of design tool. The question is, does CSS itself want to be a design tool or an output target? If people are supposed to be writing CSS everyday, then the authoring convenience of color calculations is very important.

-Chris

On May 9, 2013, at 8:29 PM, "Tab Atkins Jr." <jackalmage@gmail.com> wrote:

> On Thu, May 9, 2013 at 8:25 PM, Rik Cabanier <cabanier@gmail.com> wrote:
>> Not that I'm disagreeing, but if authors like this so much, why don't any
>> design tools (that I know of) offer such a notation?
> 
> I have no idea what design tools do.  I just know what SASS does, and
> the SASS people have some usage data for that kind of thing.
> 
> ~TJ
> 
Received on Friday, 10 May 2013 03:53:39 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Friday, 10 May 2013 03:53:40 UTC