W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-style@w3.org > June 2011

Re: [CSSOM] does CaretPosition need a "before/after" hint?

From: Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org>
Date: Tue, 28 Jun 2011 17:00:16 -0700
Message-ID: <BANLkTi=N5EN9dz1ryMe+ckBPPxajvVt1Ew@mail.gmail.com>
To: robert@ocallahan.org
Cc: Simon Montagu <smontagu@smontagu.org>, Ojan Vafai <ojan@chromium.org>, Anne van Kesteren <annevk@opera.com>, Julie Parent <jparent@chromium.org>, Eric Seidel <eseidel@chromium.org>, "www-style@w3.org" <www-style@w3.org>
On Tue, Jun 28, 2011 at 4:59 PM, Robert O'Callahan <robert@ocallahan.org>wrote:

> On Wed, Jun 29, 2011 at 5:29 AM, Simon Montagu <smontagu@smontagu.org>wrote:
>
>> When the logical position of the caret could translate to more than one
>> visual position, the caret is split into a left-to-right caret and
>> right-to-left caret, one in each position. See attachment.
>>
>
> OK, that's interesting. That's fine and has no bearing on the proposal to
> add an attachment flag to CaretPosition. If platform-specific caret drawing
> code doesn't need the attachment flag, just ignore it.


As far as I understand it, split caret do need some sort of extra
information to tell which one is primary, etc... but different from what you
use.

- Ryosuke
Received on Wednesday, 29 June 2011 00:01:11 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 17:20:41 GMT