W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-style@w3.org > July 2011

Re: css3-fonts: should not dictate usage policy with respect to origin

From: Boris Zbarsky <bzbarsky@MIT.EDU>
Date: Thu, 30 Jun 2011 20:23:27 -0400
Message-ID: <4E0D137F.8090000@mit.edu>
To: Glenn Adams <glenn@skynav.com>
CC: Tab Atkins <tabatkins@google.com>, Brad Kemper <brad.kemper@gmail.com>, John Daggett <jdaggett@mozilla.com>, John Hudson <tiro@tiro.com>, Vladimir Levantovsky <Vladimir.Levantovsky@monotypeimaging.com>, "liam@w3.org" <liam@w3.org>, StyleBeyondthePunchedCard <www-style@w3.org>, "public-webfonts-wg@w3.org" <public-webfonts-wg@w3.org>, "www-font@w3.org" <www-font@w3.org>, "Martin J." <duerst@it.aoyama.ac.jp>, Sylvain Galineau <sylvaing@microsoft.com>
On 6/30/11 7:01 PM, Glenn Adams wrote:
> if this argument applies, then the same logic driving SOR on font
> fetches should be used on every type of fetch, including images

That would be ideal, yes.  We'd like to move there, for sure.

In the face of the large deployed base of cross-origin-referenced 
images, though, that's not feasible, yet.

But that "large installed base" argument does not apply to new types of 
loads, which is why new types of loads are tending to be defined with 
cross-origin restrictions and CORS in mind.  This is not specific to fonts.

> however, I have asked what is special about fonts that requires SOR that
> does not apply to text/plain, image/png, application/xml, etc.

Nothing.  What's special about fonts that _allows_ the restriction is 
lack of significant existing deployment depending on the unrestricted 
behavior.  And it's not even that special to fonts.

-Boris
Received on Friday, 1 July 2011 00:24:01 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 17:20:42 GMT