W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-style@w3.org > June 2010

Re: Haptics CSS extension proposal

From: Tab Atkins Jr. <jackalmage@gmail.com>
Date: Mon, 14 Jun 2010 12:38:07 -0700
Message-ID: <AANLkTilqvKoO7EUhyN91dU1zq6064YBh7ldXu4umLZ_r@mail.gmail.com>
To: "Belov, Charles" <Charles.Belov@sfmta.com>
Cc: Daniel Glazman <daniel.glazman@disruptive-innovations.com>, www-style@w3.org, "Gronholm Kim.1 (Nokia-D/Tampere)" <kim.1.gronholm@nokia.com>, Arthur Barstow <art.barstow@nokia.com>, Lars Knoll <lars.knoll@nokia.com>, Ilkka Oksanen <Ilkka.Oksanen@nokia.com>, "Haverinen Henry (Nokia-D-Qt/Oslo)" <henry.haverinen@nokia.com>
On Mon, Jun 14, 2010 at 12:25 PM, Belov, Charles
<Charles.Belov@sfmta.com> wrote:
>> Daniel Glazman wrote on Monday, June 14, 2010 1:22 AM
>> Forwarding a message from Kom Grönholm (Nokia) that did not
>> make it to the list.
>>
>> Tactile feedback is based on the sense of touch, for example
>> vibrating the screen or giving a more realistic sense of a
>> physical object when the user touches the UI.  As the
>> physical feel of an element can be considered a part of its
>> style, we're proposing to extend CSS to allow assigning the
>> tactile feedback style to web elements. According to our
>> studies the most convenient and natural way to specify haptic
>> feedback is CSS. We also considered implementing haptics for
>> web using WAI-ARIA but came to the conclusion that haptics is
>> not (just) an accessibility feature although it can be used
>> for improving accessibility as well.
>
> This would imply a need to extend WCAG as well.  Some people
> are sensitive to vibrations and would need to be able to
> specify something like "vibrate:none ! important" in their
> personal style sheet.  Or would this be handled
> as a preference by the user agent?

Presumably such people would not be using a device that communicates
haptically, or would have that functionality turned off at the UA or
device level.

~TJ
Received on Monday, 14 June 2010 19:39:01 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 17:20:28 GMT