W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-rdf-interest@w3.org > November 2003

ANNOUNCEMENT: eRQL

From: Karsten Tolle <tolle@dbis.informatik.uni-frankfurt.de>
Date: Thu, 27 Nov 2003 12:57:01 +0100
Message-ID: <000701c3b4de$288ca070$230b028d@HANNOVER>
To: "Www-Rdf-Interest@W3.Org" <www-rdf-interest@w3.org>
Cc: <TORSTEN@de.ibm.com>, "Dimitris Plexousakis" <dp@ics.forth.gr>, "Alexaki Sofia" <alexaki@ics.forth.gr>, "Anne-Katrin Hillebrand" <AKHILLE@de.ibm.com>, "Carsten Reinhard" <carsten.reinhard@tui.de>, "Christian Froemel" <froemel@informatik.uni-frankfurt.de>, <christoph.schommer@ist.lu>, "Dan Brickley" <danbri@w3.org>, "Drobnik@Informatik.Uni-Frankfurt.De" <drobnik@informatik.uni-frankfurt.de>, "Greg Karvounarakis" <gregkar@ics.forth.gr>, "Irini Fundulaki" <Irini.Fundulaki@inria.fr>, <js@chattensoft.de>, <JSEITTER@de.ibm.com>, "Klaus Birkenbihl" <w3c@w3c.de>, "Markus Ueberall" <ueberall@tm.informatik.uni-frankfurt.de>, "Martin Hess" <hess2001@web.de>, "Mittelhaeusser, Gangolf" <Gangolf_Mittelhaeusser@fra.invesco.com>, "Nejdl" <nejdl@kbs.uni-hannover.de>, "Norbert Wartig" <wartign@gmx.de>, "Ralf Heese" <rheese@poll.informatik.hu-berlin.de>, "Sven E. Lautemann" <lautemann@de.ibm.com>
I'm pleased to announce Easy RDF Query Language (eRQL)
 

Open Source - Freeware - Java 

 

Easy RDF Query Language (eRQL) is an intuitive easy to use query language for RDF based
upon RQL. Even without knowing the underlying schema the user can query RDF data while
the syntax for it is mainly intuitive. 

The current eRQL prototype implementation for an eRQL processor called eRQLEngine
comes with a simple graphical user interface. The eRQLEngine was tested with a partial RQL
processor called RQLEngine that runs upon VRP and implements the needed features for the
eRQLEngine. The eRQL prototype implementation is open source freeware and can be
downloaded as a bundel from the eRqlEnine page. 

The main design goals for eRQL had been: 

  a.. Simplicity - A user should be enabled to make simple queries even without any
  preliminary knowledge. 
  b.. Schema independence - Queries should be possible without knowing the underlying
  RDF schema for the given data. 
  c.. Power - Powerful queries should be generated by concatenating more simple ones. 
  d.. Domain independence - The query language should be independent of a specific
  domain. 
 

eRQL was developed by Fabian Wleklinski and Karsten Tolle.

 

  

Recommendations and comments are welcome!

 

Best greetings,

 

Karsten Tolle

___________________________________
Karsten Tolle
Received on Thursday, 27 November 2003 07:02:34 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:52:03 GMT