W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-mobile@w3.org > November 2004

IEEE WMAN 05 -- 2nd Call for Papers

From: Ioannis Chatzigiannakis <ichatz@cti.gr>
Date: Mon, 8 Nov 2004 16:55:09 +0200 (EET)
To: ichatz@cti.gr
Message-ID: <Pine.GSO.4.60.0411081651500.8888@hermes.cti.gr>

[Apologies for multiple postings]

                      2nd Call for Papers

             5th IEEE International Workshop on
   Algorithms for Wireless, Mobile, Ad Hoc and Sensor Networks
                        (IEEE WMAN 05)

           April 4-8, 2005, Denver, Colorado, USA
                  (Omni Interlocken Resort)

          To be held in conjunction with IPDPS 2005

             Supported by the IEEE Computer Society



The field of wireless and mobile computing is an important research 
challenging area, that emerges from the integration among personal 
computing distributed computing, cellular technology and the Web. This is 
possible due to the continuously increasing interaction between 
communication and computing, which is changing the information access from 
the current reactive ``anytime anywhere'' into the incoming proactive 
``all the time everywhere'' approach. Nowadays, there is a large variety 
of networks spanning from the well-known cellular networks to 
non-infrastructured wireless networks such as mobile ad hoc networks and 
sensor networks.

This scenario raises a number of interesting, and difficult, algorithmic 
issues in diverse areas such as location management, resource allocation, 
ubiquitous information, network connectivity, reliability and security, 
and energy consumption.

This workshop is intended to cover contributions in both the design and 
analysis of discrete algorithms and the system modelling in the context of 
mobile, wireless, ad-hoc, and sensor networks. In particular, it aims at 
bringing together the practitioners and theoreticians of the field. We are 
seeking for papers that are original, unpublished and not currently under 
review. The objective of this workshop is to bring together leading 
technologists and researchers in these ``critical areas'' of research in 
order to have a forum for discussing fundamental challenges, identifying 
future perspectives, and exchanging ideas about ongoing research.

Authors are solicited to submit original unpublished manuscripts for this 
workshop. Accepted papers will be published in the proceedings (by IEEE CS 
Press) of the IPDPS workshops.


The scope of this workshop includes, but is not limited, to:

* frequency and channel assignment algorithms
* cryptography and security
* distributed algorithms
* pricing modeling and solutions
* algorithms for satellite communications
* mechanisms design and cooperation enforcement
* algorithms and modeling on satellite and radio networks
* algorithms for resource management in mobile, wireless and ad-hoc networks
* data management on mobile and wireless computing
* algorithms for single-hop and multiple-hop packet radio networks
* routing, and communication primitives in ad hoc and sensor networks
* synchronization and scheduling issues in mobile and ad hoc networks
* energy saving protocols for ad hoc and sensor networks
* complexity analysis of algorithms for mobile environments
* caching and prefetching for information access in wireless networks
* algorithms and modeling for tracking and locating mobile users


Workshop Paper Due: November 20, 2004, 5pm EST
Notification of Acceptance/Rejection: December 22, 2004
Camera-Ready Paper Due: January 15, 2004


Authors are invited to submit manuscripts reporting original unpublished 
research and recent developments in the topics related to the WMAN 
workshop. The length of the papers should be a maximum of 10 double-column 
single-spaced pages including figures and references on 8.5 by 11 inch 
paper using at least 10 point font (based upon IEEE Proceedings Style). 
Please remember that the final versions will be restricted to 8 pages.

Authors must submit their papers electronically via EDAS 

Note that once the paper gets accepted, it is MANDATORY that at least one 
author should attend the workshop and present the paper.

The accepted papers will be published in the same printed abstract volume 
and CD-ROM proceedings as other workshops of the IPDPS 2005 conference by 
the IEEE Computer Society Press and IEEE online library.

General Chair:

Cristina M. Pinotti
Dept. of Computer Sciences and Telecommunications
University of Trento
E-mail: pinotti@science.unitn.it

Program Committee Co-Chairs:

Azzedine Boukerche
SITE University of Ottawa
E-mail: boukerch@site.uottawa.ca

Sotiris Nikoletseas
Dept. of Computer Engineering and Informatics,
University of Patras, and Computer Technology Institute,
E-mail: nikole@cti.gr

Publicity Chair:

Ioannis Chatzigiannakis
Dept. of Computer Engineering and Informatics,
University of Patras, and Computer Technology Institute,
E-mail: ichatz@cti.gr

Steering Committee

Sajal K. Das,
Dept. of Computer Science and Engineering,
University of Texas at Arlington, USA

Mohan Kumar,
Dept. of Computer Science and Engineering,
University of Texas at Arlington, USA

Program Committee (to be finalized):

Azzedine Boukerche (Co-Chair), University of Ottawa, Canada
Ioannis Chatzigiannakis, University of Patras and CTI, Greece
Andrea Clementi, University of Rome La Sapienza, Italy
Marco Conti, IIT - CNR, Italy
Josep Diaz, Technical University of Catalonia, Spain
Shlomi Dolev, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
Magnus Halldorsson, University of Iceland, Iceland
Wendi Heinzelman, University of Rochester, USA
Klaus Jansen, University of Kiel, Germany
Elias Koutsoupias, University of Athens, Greece
Mirek Kutylowski, Wroclaw University of Technology, Poland
Bhaskar Krishnamachari, University of Southern California, USA
Robert Leese, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
Alessandro Mei, University of Rome La Sapienza, Italy
Sotiris Nikoletseas (Co-Chair), University of Patras and CTI, Greece
Mohamed Ould-Khaoua, University of Glasgow, UK
David Peleg, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
Roberto De Prisco, University of Salerno, Italy
Cauligi Raghavendra, University of Southern California, USA
Jose Rolim, University of Geneva, Switzerland
Peter Sanders, Max Planck Institute for CS, Germany
Mirela Sechi Moretti A.N., Barddal University, Brazil
Alex Shvartsman, MIT, USA
Peter Triantafilloy, University of Patras, Greece
Peter Widmayer, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Received on Monday, 8 November 2004 15:02:37 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 6 January 2015 20:16:05 UTC