W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-international@w3.org > January to March 2002

RE: (iso639.448) SV: Analysis of ISO 639 and mappings to SIL Ethnologue

From: by way of Martin Duerst <havard@hjulstad.com>
Date: Tue, 19 Feb 2002 20:54:58 +0900
Message-Id: <4.2.0.58.J.20020219205449.030c10c8@localhost>
To: www-international@w3.org
Thank you, Michael. PLEASE let us NOT have the Saami/Sami/S疥i discussion
repeated again!

H蛆ard

-------------------------
H蛆ard Hjulstad    mailto:havard@hjulstad.com
   Solfallsveien 31
   NO-1430  ナs, Norway
   tel: +47-64944233  &  +47-64963684
   mob: +47-90145563
   http://www.hjulstad.com/havard/
-------------------------

-----Original Message-----
From: Michael Everson [mailto:everson@evertype.com]
Sent: 17. februar 2002 16:57
To: Scripts@sesame.demon.co.uk
Cc: alona@c2i.net; Peter_Constable@sil.org; unicode@unicode.org;
unicore@unicode.org; ietf-languages@eikenes.alvestrand.no;
iso639@dkuug.dk; langtag@unicode.org; www-international@w3.org;
locales@yahoogroups.com; i18n-prog@yahoogroups.com;
Trond.Trosterud@hum.uit.no; havard@hjulstad.com;
Scripts@sesame.demon.co.uk; Tagging@sesame.demon.co.uk;
Webbing@sesame.demon.co.uk
Subject: Re: (iso639.448) SV: Analysis of ISO 639 and mappings to SIL
Ethnologue


At 12:47 +0000 2002-02-17, John Clews wrote:
 >In message <200202170147.CAA08209@dkuug.dk> "Audun H. Lona" writes:
 >
 >>  The term "saami" should be replaced with "sami" as in the 639 original
 >>  document (i hope).
 >
 >Actually, that's not the case.
 >
 >1. All the Saami language councils have preferred to use the name
 >"Saami" rather than "Sami" when using the name in English.

John this has been argued a thousand times. The preferred form of the
word, as found on page 1644 of the New Oxford Dictionary of English
(2001) is "Sami", with no accent. "Saami" does not appear in this
dictionary, and in any case should be avoided because people may
hypercorrect it to S蚓i, confusing it with equivalences like ナlborg
and Aalborg.
--
Michael Everson *** Everson Typography *** http://www.evertype.com
Received on Tuesday, 19 February 2002 07:15:40 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 2 June 2009 19:16:58 GMT