W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-dom@w3.org > April to June 2000

Re: ANN: JDOM

From: Arnaud Le Hors <lehors@us.ibm.com>
Date: Thu, 27 Apr 2000 11:59:23 -0700
Message-ID: <39088E0B.57598BA3@apache.org>
To: xerces-j-dev@xml.apache.org
CC: xalan-dev@xml.apache.org, cocoon-dev@xml.apache.org, Ivan Valdiva <ivanv@center7.com>, Matt Phillipps <mattp@center7.com>, Ken Beyer <kab@metatec.com>, Vamshi Jonnalagadda <jvamshi@rens.com>, Jeff McCarrell <jwm@emptech.com>, Nick Crossley <ndjc@ncrossley.com>, Tommy Jasmin <jasmin@berbee.com>, Steve Drake <drake@comet.ucar.edu>, Stephen Figgens <fig@oreilly.com>, David Schaer <david@cu.net>, Manon Girard <girardm@grics.gc.ca>, Jeff Jones <jajones@weather.com>, "T. K. Lin" <tlin@electronics-today.com>, Wes Biggs <wbiggs@elite.com>, Scott Carpenter <scott_carpenter@bigfoot.com>, Debra Elliott <debra_elliott@agilent.com>, Isaac Hands <ihands@databeam.com>, Jim Lawwill <jlawwill@databeam.com>, Eduardo Neeter <eneeter@intraspect.com>, Steven Layten <slayten@cas.org>, Chad Hinkel <chad_hinkel@cargill.com>, Ricardo Garcia <ricardo.garcia@gamers.com>, Ron Norman <ronald.norman@togethersoft.com>, David Soleno <dsoleno@doccity.com>, Kausten Tuoff <utuott@get2chip.com>, Joseph Sze <joseph.sze@cigna.com>, Richard Ritchie <richard.ritchie@cigna.com>, Thomas Hill <thomas.hill@openmarket.com>, Steve Cavin <scavin@earthbridge.com>, Rance Shields <rance.shields@deqmail.state.ok.us>, Christopher Powell <chrspw@aol.com>, Tom Moos <tomm@fc.hp.com>, Patrick Harper <patrickh@extendsys.com>, Ben Jacobs <random@well.com>, Shin Takagi <takagi@megaships.co.jp>, Masoud Mansouri-Samani <masoud_mansouri-samani@agilent.com>, Christopher Mileto <cfmileto@southernco.com>, Geoff Krampitz <geoffkrampitz@hotmail.com>, Wang Conghni <gwang@houston.geoqest.slb.com>, Cindy Hsieh <chsieh@onlink.com>, Jody Wheat <jwheat@strykerendo.com>, Gary Haines <gary.haines@usafa.af.mil>, Ted Hsieh <ted_hsieh@hp.com>, Gary Shea <shea@gtsdesign.com>, Paul Gregson <paul@gamers.com>, Norman Yee <norm@gamers.com>, Ben Vandgrift <benji@ecorporation.com>, Jay Disilvejiri <jay@adei.com>, Jason Hunter <jason@servlets.com>, Raj Gupta <rajg@adventa.com>, Paul Chomg <pchang@cybersource.com>, Gary Horton <horton@ucar.edu>, Kay Sampacngern <kay.sampacngern@marchfirst.com>, Ramesh Patrone <rpatrone@cisco.com>, Ted Hollman <ted.hollman@compaq.com>, Mark McNiff <mark.mcniff@integ.com>, Richard Sears <richard.sears@sun.com>, Wes Gamble <weyus@att.net>, Amit Bhati <amit@visi.com>, David Sanford <davids@vitessa.net>, Lance Reck <lange.reck@inktomi.com>, Zach Brand <zbrand@wpni.com>, Tvan Ho <tho@synapta.com>, Keith Goettert <keith@activesw.com>, Elliot Schwartz <es@mit.edu>, Steve Mann <smann@cdpubs.com>, Kwei Chan <kwei_chan@intuit.com>, Alex Kovkov <alexvk@sgi.com>, Jim King <jim.king@gene.ge.com>, Charles Lewis <charlesonline@yahoo.com>, Kim Goings <kim.goings@mail.sprint.com>, Alan Preston <apreston@allaire.com>, Ernest Kim <ernest@mysimon.com>, E Wolf <wolf@ap.net>, Suresb Chandraskchanah <suresbc@eng.sun.com>, Aaron Boeck <aboeck@zland.com>, Dave Holzer <dholzer@kaverinetworks.com>, Diane Murphy <diane_murphy@epicdata.com>, Van Smith <smith.van@menlolog.com>, J C Dorng <jcdorng@home.com>, Shikka Gottfried <shikka@cv.hp.com>, Kim Vo <kvo@rfc.com>, Dave DeCruz <decruzda@pebio.com>, Geary Arceneaux <geary.arceneaux@compaq.com>, Tim Webster <tim@thecolorworks.com>, "Chris O'Neil" <chris@svwp.com>, Rafael Saucedo <rsaucedo@earthling.net>, Kaylynn Nelson <kalynn@uen.org>, Joe Kathan <joeka@medcmp.com>, Arnie Carter <acarter@acs.utah.edu>, Tom Austin <taustin@realcities.com>, Linda Jewett <linda.jewett@gene.ge.com>, Judy Ng <jade@cisco.com>, Tom Poffenberger <tpoffenb@cisco.com>, Bruno Melloni <bruno@melloni.com>, Henrik Rodshagen <hrodshagen@cdgzd.com>, Kristian Woyna <kwoyna@ucar.edu>, Michael Brinkman <michaelbr@raremedium.com>, Hristo Tonev <htoner@us.oracle.com>, Craig Scurlock <cscurlock@sportsnetwork.com>, Narjala Bhasker <narjalal.bhasker@intel.com>, Greg Moxness <jgmoxness@west.raytheon.com>, Reena Mathew <rmathew@inventa.com>, "K. R. Balaji" <krb@mti.sgi.com>, Jeremy Bower <jeremy.bower@pervasive.com>, Michael Oldham <michael_oldham@hp.com>, Nick Ludden <Nicholas.Ludden@sun.com>, Don Gilchrest <donald.gilchrest@east.sun.com>, Mike Figueroa <mike.figueroa@sun.com>, Beatrice Yeh <beatrice.yeh@ericsson.com>, Anjan Bacchu <bacchu_anjan@yahoo.com>, Todd Thal <todd_thal@hotmail.com>, Derek Roller <derek_roller@hp.com>, Jeff Hutchinson <jhut@inst.strykercorp.com>, Newton Chan <newtonc@mail.com>, Moshe Sambol <msambol@gte.com>, www-dom@w3.org
Hi all,

While I unfortunately missed the presentation last night, I had a look
at JDOM. I must say that while it is definitely simpler, it can hardly
compare to the DOM.
I'll be the first one to say that the DOM is far from being the cleanest
and leanest API one could dream of but, unlike JDOM, at least it
truthfully represents XML.

JDOM appears to fail to even simply represent the XML document tree as
it should. Processing instructions, for instance, aren't found in the
tree but instead are stored at the document level.

JDOM confuses entity references and entities. While entity refs are
represented by an Entity object, entities are simply absent.

The way namespaces are handled show a clear misunderstanding of the
basics of XML namespaces and, unless a serious redesign is undertaken,
it will only work for simple cases.

So, if the DOM is "ridiculously complex", JDOM appears to be
ridiculously simple... Sorry, I couldn't resist. ;-)
-- 
Arnaud  Le Hors

-----------
Brett McLaughlin wrote:
> 
> Java + XML = JDOM
> If you're from the Silicon Valley area, you may be interested in
> attending the Mountain View Java User's Group meeting April 26th where
> I'm scheduled to talk about JDOM. Here's the blurb:
> 
> What do you get when you mix Java and XML? You get JDOM, the Java
> Document Object Model. Haven't heard of JDOM? That's because it's *brand
> new* and this talk is one of the first chances to learn about it! Soon
> you'll probably hear about JDOM everywhere.
> 
> JDOM is an open source API for easily and efficiently reading and
> writing  XML data. It's a replacement for the ridiculously complex DOM
> and SAX APIs. Unlike DOM and SAX, JDOM is optimized for the Java
> programmer; it uses standard Java programming idioms and takes advantage
> of Java language features. The result is a document model that's more
> powerful than DOM and operates at roughly the speed of SAX.
> 
> This talk is being given by the co-creators of JDOM -- Jason Hunter,
> author of "Java Servlet Programming" (O'Reilly), and Brett McLaughlin,
> author of the soon-to-be-released "Java and XML" (O'Reilly).
> 
> For details see http://www.mtvjug.org.
> 
> If you're in the area, folks, check this out - we have quite a few
> surprises in store for you.  Not only do we offer a /very/ attractive
> alternative to SAX and DOM, we are still 100% interoperable with SAX and
> DOM - you can create a JDOM Document from SAX, DOM, and a variety of
> other formats, and output to DOM, fire SAX events, plus some more
> treats.
> This is, in fact, an idea that Jason and I came up with merged with
> support from James Davidson and Pier Fumagalli, who had done some
> initial work of their own on the concept.  I hope to see you there.
> 
> -Brett McLaughlin
> Author, "Java and XML" (O'Reilly) July 2000
> Author, "Enterprise Applications in Java" (O'Reilly) 4th Qtr 2000
> 
> ---------------------------------------------------------------------
> To unsubscribe, e-mail: xerces-j-dev-unsubscribe@xml.apache.org
> For additional commands, e-mail: xerces-j-dev-help@xml.apache.org
Received on Thursday, 27 April 2000 15:12:37 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 22 June 2012 06:13:47 GMT