W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-dom@w3.org > April to June 2000

Re: ANN: JDOM

From: Arnaud Le Hors <lehors@us.ibm.com>
Date: Thu, 27 Apr 2000 14:52:42 -0700
Message-ID: <3908B6AA.CA551E9F@us.ibm.com>
To: Jason Hunter <jhunter@acm.org>
CC: xerces-j-dev@xml.apache.org, xalan-dev@xml.apache.org, cocoon-dev@xml.apache.org, Ivan Valdiva <ivanv@center7.com>, Matt Phillipps <mattp@center7.com>, Ken Beyer <kab@metatec.com>, Vamshi Jonnalagadda <jvamshi@rens.com>, Jeff McCarrell <jwm@emptech.com>, Nick Crossley <ndjc@ncrossley.com>, Tommy Jasmin <jasmin@berbee.com>, Steve Drake <drake@comet.ucar.edu>, Stephen Figgens <fig@oreilly.com>, David Schaer <david@cu.net>, Manon Girard <girardm@grics.gc.ca>, Jeff Jones <jajones@weather.com>, "T. K. Lin" <tlin@electronics-today.com>, Wes Biggs <wbiggs@elite.com>, Scott Carpenter <scott_carpenter@BIGFOOT.COM>, Debra Elliott <debra_elliott@agilent.com>, Isaac Hands <ihands@databeam.com>, Jim Lawwill <jlawwill@databeam.com>, Eduardo Neeter <eneeter@intraspect.com>, Steven Layten <slayten@cas.org>, Chad Hinkel <chad_hinkel@cargill.com>, Ricardo Garcia <ricardo.garcia@gamers.com>, Ron Norman <ronald.norman@togethersoft.com>, David Soleno <dsoleno@doccity.com>, Kausten Tuoff <utuott@get2chip.com>, Joseph Sze <joseph.sze@cigna.com>, Richard Ritchie <richard.ritchie@cigna.com>, Thomas Hill <thomas.hill@openmarket.com>, Steve Cavin <scavin@earthbridge.com>, Rance Shields <rance.shields@deqmail.state.ok.us>, Christopher Powell <chrspw@aol.com>, Tom Moos <tomm@fc.hp.com>, Patrick Harper <patrickh@extendsys.com>, Ben Jacobs <random@well.com>, Shin Takagi <takagi@megaships.co.jp>, Masoud Mansouri-Samani <masoud_mansouri-samani@agilent.com>, Christopher Mileto <cfmileto@southernco.com>, Geoff Krampitz <geoffkrampitz@hotmail.com>, Wang Conghni <gwang@houston.geoqest.slb.com>, Cindy Hsieh <chsieh@onlink.com>, Jody Wheat <jwheat@strykerendo.com>, Gary Haines <gary.haines@usafa.af.mil>, Ted Hsieh <ted_hsieh@hp.com>, Gary Shea <shea@gtsdesign.com>, Paul Gregson <paul@gamers.com>, Norman Yee <norm@gamers.com>, Ben Vandgrift <benji@ecorporation.com>, Jay Disilvejiri <jay@adei.com>, Jason Hunter <jason@servlets.com>, Raj Gupta <rajg@adventa.com>, Paul Chomg <pchang@cybersource.com>, Gary Horton <horton@ucar.edu>, Kay Sampacngern <kay.sampacngern@marchfirst.com>, Ramesh Patrone <rpatrone@cisco.com>, Ted Hollman <ted.hollman@compaq.com>, Mark McNiff <mark.mcniff@integ.com>, Richard Sears <richard.sears@sun.com>, Wes Gamble <weyus@att.net>, Amit Bhati <amit@visi.com>, David Sanford <davids@vitessa.net>, Lance Reck <lange.reck@inktomi.com>, Zach Brand <zbrand@wpni.com>, Tvan Ho <tho@synapta.com>, Keith Goettert <keith@activesw.com>, Elliot Schwartz <es@mit.edu>, Steve Mann <smann@cdpubs.com>, Kwei Chan <kwei_chan@intuit.com>, Alex Kovkov <alexvk@sgi.com>, Jim King <jim.king@gene.ge.com>, Charles Lewis <charlesonline@yahoo.com>, Kim Goings <kim.goings@mail.sprint.com>, Alan Preston <apreston@allaire.com>, Ernest Kim <ernest@mysimon.com>, E Wolf <wolf@ap.net>, Suresb Chandraskchanah <suresbc@eng.sun.com>, Aaron Boeck <aboeck@zland.com>, Dave Holzer <dholzer@kaverinetworks.com>, Diane Murphy <diane_murphy@epicdata.com>, Van Smith <smith.van@menlolog.com>, J C Dorng <jcdorng@home.com>, Shikka Gottfried <shikka@cv.hp.com>, Kim Vo <kvo@rfc.com>, Dave DeCruz <decruzda@pebio.com>, Geary Arceneaux <geary.arceneaux@compaq.com>, Tim Webster <tim@thecolorworks.com>, "Chris O'Neil" <chris@svwp.com>, Rafael Saucedo <rsaucedo@earthling.net>, Kaylynn Nelson <kalynn@uen.org>, Joe Kathan <joeka@medcmp.com>, Arnie Carter <acarter@acs.utah.edu>, Tom Austin <taustin@realcities.com>, Linda Jewett <linda.jewett@gene.ge.com>, Judy Ng <jade@cisco.com>, Tom Poffenberger <tpoffenb@cisco.com>, Bruno Melloni <bruno@melloni.com>, Henrik Rodshagen <hrodshagen@cdgzd.com>, Kristian Woyna <kwoyna@ucar.edu>, Michael Brinkman <michaelbr@raremedium.com>, Hristo Tonev <htoner@us.oracle.com>, Craig Scurlock <cscurlock@sportsnetwork.com>, Narjala Bhasker <narjalal.bhasker@intel.com>, Greg Moxness <jgmoxness@west.raytheon.com>, Reena Mathew <rmathew@inventa.com>, "K. R. Balaji" <krb@mti.sgi.com>, Jeremy Bower <jeremy.bower@pervasive.com>, Michael Oldham <michael_oldham@hp.com>, Nick Ludden <Nicholas.Ludden@sun.com>, Don Gilchrest <donald.gilchrest@east.sun.com>, Mike Figueroa <mike.figueroa@sun.com>, Beatrice Yeh <beatrice.yeh@ericsson.com>, Anjan Bacchu <bacchu_anjan@yahoo.com>, Todd Thal <todd_thal@hotmail.com>, Derek Roller <derek_roller@hp.com>, Jeff Hutchinson <jhut@inst.strykercorp.com>, Newton Chan <newtonc@mail.com>, Moshe Sambol <msambol@gte.com>, www-dom@w3.org
Jason Hunter wrote:
> 
> Arnaud Le Hors wrote:
> >
> > Hi all,
> 
> And an awful lot of "all" there are!  I'm replying to everyone since
> I think we need to hear from both viewpoints here.  PLEASE IF YOU WANT
> TO REPLY, join and post to jdom-interest (see http://jdom.org for
> sign-up).

Well, that's Brett original list of recipients (plus www-dom). Since he
took the liberty to tell all these people that DOM is "ridiculous", I
have to keep sending them my answers just as well. I assume all these
people have expressed interest in this in the first place and Brett
didn't spam them...

> The goal of JDOM is to solve 80% (or more) of a Java programmer's XML
> problems with 20% (or less) of the traditional effort.

As I've said in another thread [1] that's very fine with me as long as
you make this clear!! But you claim [2] to be "100% compliant with
existing standards". This is just untrue, so retract those claims, and
stop comparing JDOM with truly compliant implementations, such as
Xerces, because this comparison is just plain bogus.

Thank you.

[1] http://xml-archive.webweaving.org/xml-archive-general/1713.html
[2] http://jdom.org/mission/index.html
-- 
Arnaud  Le Hors
Received on Thursday, 27 April 2000 18:03:59 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 22 June 2012 06:13:47 GMT