W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-archive@w3.org > June 2009

PF Response: @Summary

From: Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>
Date: Wed, 3 Jun 2009 20:02:17 -0400
To: Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>, Chris Wilson <Chris.Wilson@microsoft.com>
Cc: Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>, Dan Connolly <connolly@w3.org>, Mike Smith <mike@w3.org>, W3C WAI Protocols & Formats <w3c-wai-pf@w3.org>, Gez Lemon <gez.lemon@gmail.com>, Laura Carlson <laura.lee.carlson@gmail.com>, "wai-liaison@w3.org" <wai-liaison@w3.org>, John Foliot <jfoliot@stanford.edu>, www-archive <www-archive@w3.org>
Message-ID: <20090604000217.GA2789@sonata.rednote.net>

The following consensus was reached by Protocols and Formats Working Group
during its teleconference of Wednesday, 3 June 2009:
http://www.w3.org/2009/06/03-pf-minutes.html

We request the table summary tag be restored in HTML 5 as per previous communications:
http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-html/2008Aug/0213.html

Rationale:

Summary serves a need, and serves it well. It is familiar to users. It is
supported in browsers. It is properly utilized on many web sites which strive
to be accessible.

*	If it didn't exist, we'd need to invent it. Indeed, such alternative
*	approaches as have been proposed constitute a "reinvention" of
*	summary. PF wishes to move on to address accessibility concerns in
*	areas, such as canvas, where no good solution currently exists rather
*	than reinventing summary.

*	We reject the argument that summary should be removed from the HTML
*	specification because it is not implemented on most web sites. We note
*	that accessibility is poorly supported on most web sites. The wider
*	web is not an example of good practice.

*	We need summary for backward compatibility.

*	We note that summary is often used as a technique for accessibility
*	support where governmental regulations require governmental web sites to be
*	accessible. An example is the U.S. Government's Social Security
*	Administration (SSA) pages as SSA conforms to its "Section 508."
*	mandate:
	http://www.usdoj.gov/crt/508/web.php
	http://www.access-board.gov/sec508/guide/1194.22.htm#(g)

*	If summary is removed, U.S. Government web sites, might find it more
*	difficult to conform to HTML 5. We further note that Section 508
*	regulations apply to U.S. state and local governments, and that
*	similar accessibility requirements are emerging in Canada, the U.K.,
*	the E.U., Australia, and elsewhere.

*	Restoring summary in HTML 5 would not, in our understanding, negatively
*	impact HTML 5 in any way.


Janina Sajka,	Phone:	+1.202.595.7777;
		sip:janina@CapitalAccessibility.Com
Partner, Capital Accessibility LLC	http://CapitalAccessibility.Com

Marketing the Owasys 22C talking screenless cell phone in the U.S. and Canada
Learn more at http://ScreenlessPhone.Com

Chair, Open Accessibility	janina@a11y.org	
Linux Foundation		http://a11y.org

Chair, Protocols & Formats
Web Accessibility Initiative	http://www.w3.org/wai/pf
World Wide Web Consortium (W3C)
Received on Thursday, 4 June 2009 00:03:12 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 7 November 2012 14:18:25 GMT