W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-archive@w3.org > December 2002

Re: Editorial comments for Part 1, section 1-3

From: <noah_mendelsohn@us.ibm.com>
Date: Fri, 13 Dec 2002 23:59:45 -0500
To: "Henrik Frystyk Nielsen" <henrikn@microsoft.com>
Cc: "Anish Karmarkar" <Anish.Karmarkar@oracle.com>, "Nilo Mitra" <EUSNILM@am1.ericsson.se>, "David Fallside" <fallside@us.ibm.com>, "Marc Hadley" <marc.hadley@sun.com>, "Martin Gudgin" <mgudgin@microsoft.com>, "Jean-Jacques Moreau" <moreau@crf.canon.fr>, www-archive@w3.org
Message-ID: <OF43B3BADC.F2A401A8-ON85256C8E.007A705C@lotus.com>

I know I'm late going through these, but I think it's appropriate to 
continue editorial refinements as we move between CR and PR.   Overall, I 
think your proposed improvements are terrific.  There's one I would roll 
back (presuming it happened:  I'm offline and can't get to the latest CR 
draft):

You propose:

* S2.4, P1: Change "by the combination of [local name] and [namespace]"
to "by the XML qualified name"

Though I like this use of "qualified name" in principle, I don't think 
we've introduced it in a rigorous manner, have we?    Lacking that, I 
think the original is less ambiguous.  Some might read the revised as 
applying to the {prefix,lname} pair.  I'd revert to the original.  Thanks.

------------------------------------------------------------------
Noah Mendelsohn                              Voice: 1-617-693-4036
IBM Corporation                                Fax: 1-617-693-8676
One Rogers Street
Cambridge, MA 02142
------------------------------------------------------------------
Received on Saturday, 14 December 2002 00:02:14 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 7 November 2012 14:17:24 GMT