W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-archive@w3.org > November 2001

Capturing Noah's Goal - Framework Description for Nov 5

From: Mountain, Highland M <highland.m.mountain@intel.com>
Date: Fri, 2 Nov 2001 14:23:43 -0800
Message-ID: <ED492E16A0B8D311AC490090276D20840FA87A08@FMSMSX31>
To: "David Fallside (E-mail)" <fallside@us.ibm.com>
Cc: "'Oisin Hurley'" <ohurley@iona.com>, "'Hugo Haas'" <hugo@w3.org>, "'Glen Daniels'" <gdaniels@macromedia.com>, "'Chris.Ferris@sun.com'"<Chris.Ferris@sun.com>, "'marc.hadley@sun.com'" <marc.hadley@sun.com>, "'Mark Nottingham'" <mnot@akamai.com>, "'Noah Mendelsohn'"<Noah_Mendelsohn@lotus.com>, "'ylafon@w3.org'" <ylafon@w3.org>, "'Mark A. Jones (E-mail)'" <jones@research.att.com>, "'www-archive@w3.org'" <www-archive@w3.org>, "Stuart' 'Williams (E-mail)"<skw@hplb.hpl.hp.com>, "Henrik Nielsen (E-mail)" <henrikn@microsoft.com>
David,

FWIW, we have this text for Monday's meeting :  

Any binding specification has a set of messaging requirements.  Some of
these requirements could be satisfied by the underlying protocol's native
feature set.  Other requirements may need to be provided outside of the
underlying protocol. The requirements not provided natively by the
underlying protocol of choice will need to be expressed in the resulting
binding specification.  These requirements will be expressed as features and
associated properties.  SOAP nodes will have to determine which resident
modules satisfy the features outside the scope of the underlying protocol,
in order to be compliant with a given binding specification.  

The last statement is where we need to arrive at a common understanding.  


Talk to you Monday.

Highland
Received on Friday, 2 November 2001 17:21:54 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 7 November 2012 14:17:14 GMT