W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-ig@w3.org > July to September 2016

Walk in NZ - FW: NHS England Accessible Info Policy

From: Howard Leicester <howard_leicester@btconnect.com>
Date: Thu, 18 Aug 2016 11:28:29 +0100
To: 'Karen Lewellen' <klewellen@shellworld.net>
CC: <w3c-wai-ig@w3.org>
Message-ID: <001601d1f93b$445828b0$cd087a10$@btconnect.com>
Hi Kare (from 'Down Under'),

It's Howard (from 'Up Over).


I share the below email and attachment (NHS England's Communications Policy)
on condition it's not widely shared or quoted until the final version is
available in a few weeks (see the condition on me in the email).


The Policy is written by my very dear friend, Sarah Marsay.


It is a fabulous response to the UK's Equality Act 2012.


The Act has special commitments on the Public Sector, but actually applies
equally to the Private Sector.


Laws may differ across countries, but I think (hope) NHS England's Policy is
a model for all countries and sectors.


Extra best,




From: Marsay Sarah (NHS ENGLAND) [mailto:sarah.marsay@nhs.net] 
Sent: 16 August 2016 14:39
To: boltonuk@gmail.com; CameronStrickland Stuart (LEEDS CITY COUNCIL)
<stuart.cameronstrickland@leeds.gcsx.gov.uk>; Catherine Carter
<Catherine@change-people.co.uk>; Chris Wood <Chris.Wood@hearingloss.org.uk>;
Erin Fahey <Erin@changepeople.org>; howard_leicester@btconnect.com; Hugh
Huddy <Hugh.Huddy@rnib.org.uk>; Margaret Flaws (margaret.flaws@cqc.org.uk)
<margaret.flaws@cqc.org.uk>; Mohamed Jogi <Mohamed.Jogi@nhsemployers.org>;
Sarah White <Sarah.White@sense.org.uk>; Sean Kirwan
<sean.kirwan@dh.gsi.gov.uk>; Gronlund Toto (NHS DIGITAL)
<t.gronlund@nhs.net>; Tom Bailey <tom.bailey@hearingloss.org.uk>
Cc: Aston Kevin (NHS ENGLAND) <kevin.aston1@nhs.net>; Fox Jane (NHS ENGLAND)
Subject: NHS England Accessible Info Policy


Hello all,


Please find attached, for your information, a copy of NHS England's
'Accessible Information and Communication Policy'. As some of you will be
aware, this has been in use as an internal Policy for some time (having been
published internally in February 2015). 


The intention is now to externally publish the Policy, including to
demonstrate meeting of Equality Act 2010 duties and leadership of the
Accessible Information Standard.


The Policy has been informed by engagement activity as part of developing
the Standard, and there will also be an opportunity for feedback to be
provided on the Policy, once published. 


I am sharing the Policy at this stage as a courtesy, and would be grateful
if you did not share. I will share a link to the Policy once it is published
externally. I anticipate this not being for another few weeks (as internal
approvals are in progress).


Any queries, please let me know.


Kind regards,




Sarah Marsay


Public Engagement Manager

Directorate of Nursing

NHS England

M: 07824124414 | E: sarah.marsay@nhs.net <mailto:sarah.marsay@nhs.net> 


My emails are written in black text using Arial point 12 and I try to use
plain English. This is generally more accessible for people with learning
disabilities, sensory loss and / or other communication needs. Find out more
about the accessible information standard here:
www.england.nhs.uk/accessibleinfo <http://www.england.nhs.uk/accessibleinfo>


"High quality care for all, now and for future generations."



This message may contain confidential information. If you are not the
intended recipient please inform the
sender that you have received the message in error before deleting it.
Please do not disclose, copy or distribute information in this e-mail or
take any action in reliance on its contents:
to do so is strictly prohibited and may be unlawful.

Thank you for your co-operation.

NHSmail is the secure email and directory service available for all NHS
staff in England and Scotland
NHSmail is approved for exchanging patient data and other sensitive
information with NHSmail and GSi recipients
NHSmail provides an email address for your career in the NHS and can be
accessed anywhere
For more information and to find out how you can switch, visit
www.nhsdigital.nhs.uk/nhsmail <http://www.nhsdigital.nhs.uk/nhsmail> 


Received on Thursday, 18 August 2016 10:29:28 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Thursday, 18 August 2016 10:29:31 UTC