W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-ig@w3.org > October to December 2006

Re: There is no structural fault with WCAG2.

From: Phill Jenkins <pjenkins@us.ibm.com>
Date: Fri, 1 Dec 2006 17:23:00 -0600
To: Jonathan Chetwynd <j.chetwynd@btinternet.com>
Cc: Charles McCathieNevile <chaals@opera.com>, Chuck Hitchcock <chitchcock@cast.org>, Clayton Lewis <clayton.lewis@colorado.edu>, Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>, Gez Lemon <gez.lemon@gmail.com>, Gian Sampson Wild <gian@tkh.com.au>, Gregg Vanderheiden <gv@TRACE.WISC.EDU>, Hiroshi Kawamura <hkawa@rehab.go.jp>, Stephen Shore <info@autismasperger.net>, Jan Dekelver <jan.dekelver@khk.be>, Judy Brewer <jbrewer@w3.org>, Joe Clark <joeclark@joeclark.org>, John Slatin <jslatin@mail.utexas.edu>, Keith Smith <k.smith@bild.org.uk>, Lisa Seeman <lisa@ubaccess.com>, Loretta Guarina-Reid <Loretta@guarino.com>, Nancy Ward <nward@thedesk.info>, Roberto Scano <rscano@iwa-italy.org>, Sofia Celic <Sofia.Celic@visionaustralia.org>, timbl@w3.org, w3c-wai-ig@w3.org, w3c-wai-ig-request@w3.org
Message-ID: <OF159F33D0.74D40A35-ON86257237.007DBEC6-86257237.00807223@us.ibm.com>
Jonathan,
I read the report "Improving literacy and numeracy - A fresh Start - the 
report of the working group chaired by Sir Claus Moser"
that was referenced at  http://www.lifelonglearning.co.uk/mosergroup/

First of all, the report itself is written at a 12.0 grade level,
never mentions the web accessibility guidelines in any of its strategies, 
   not even in chapter 14 'Further Research and Development',.
never mentions anything like a standard for making all web pages conform 
to a 2nd grade level

> No one can truly understand much of what there is on the web.

Why is this a W3C or WAI problem to handle? 
Seems like the report's strategy is about teaching people how to read, not 
about simplifying the web.

> Our users need some web pages that they can enjoy.

Again, why is this a W3C or WAI problem to handle? 
Seems like you should send that request to the working group chaired by 
Sir Claus Moser.

The Web Accessibility Initiative is about making the web accessible 
to people who have disabilities, 
not about teaching people how to read (i.e., literacy) 
and do numeracy - whatever that is.


By the way, people with or representing reading disabilities 
and cognitive disabilities 
have been involved in the WCAG 2.0 working group 
- so there is no "structural fault:". 
People who can't read may not have been involved 
- but that is a literacy problem, 
not a "structural fault". 

Please forgive my grumpy mood...
Received on Friday, 1 December 2006 23:23:42 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 5 February 2014 07:13:31 UTC