W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-ig@w3.org > October to December 2006

There is a structural fault with WCAG2. That editing won’t resolve.

From: Jonathan Chetwynd <j.chetwynd@btinternet.com>
Date: Fri, 1 Dec 2006 22:05:02 +0000
Message-Id: <FC4B832B-0090-44E9-92C2-A36893963671@btinternet.com>
Cc: Sofia Celic <Sofia.Celic@visionaustralia.org>, Jan Dekelver <jan.dekelver@khk.be>, Chuck Hitchcock <chitchcock@cast.org>, Hiroshi Kawamura <hkawa@rehab.go.jp>, Gez Lemon <gez.lemon@gmail.com>, Clayton Lewis <clayton.lewis@colorado.edu>, Gian Sampson Wild <gian@tkh.com.au>, Keith Smith <k.smith@bild.org.uk>, Roberto Scano <rscano@iwa-italy.org>, Lisa Seeman <lisa@ubaccess.com>, Stephen Shore <info@autismasperger.net>, John Slatin <jslatin@mail.utexas.edu>, Nancy Ward <nward@thedesk.info>, Loretta Guarina-Reid <Loretta@guarino.com>, Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>, Judy Brewer <jbrewer@w3.org>, GVAN <GV@TRACE.WISC.EDU>, w3c-wai-ig@w3.org, Joe Clark <joeclark@joeclark.org>, Charles McCathieNevile <chaals@opera.com>, timbl@w3.org
To: Gregg Vanderheiden <gv@trace.wisc.edu>

There is a structural fault with WCAG2. That editing won’t resolve.

The very people who have a learning disability* must own the process.
W3C, WAI and WCAG need to involve them as well as people who are  
aware of their needs.

Some guidelines may need to be tested** by humans.
This does not make them less valid.
We still need to include them.

We need to write guidelines that can be read by 2nd grade*** students.
They are easier to understand.
Then anyone can use them.

Web2.0 makes authors of us all.
We need tools with a simple interface.
One that is fun and easy to use.
With output that is accessible to us all.

No one can truly understand much of what there is on the web.
Our users need some web pages that they can enjoy.

They need to be able to:
Have fun.
Find things with ease.
Meet friends online.
Share their success and their failures.
Create stuff.
Publish it.
Play games.
Use any and all their senses.

Some may prefer pictures with their text.
Others may like sound effects.
Our senses make us what we are.

We would like to be included at the centre of the W3C process.

Regards

Jonathan Chetwynd
on behalf of more than forty groups or people that signed the formal  
objection.

* "One adult in five in the UK is not functionally literate"
http://www.lifelonglearning.co.uk/mosergroup/
They have a broad range of ability. It will not be easy to please  
them all.

** We need to measure the gap between symbol and meaning.
Our users will tell us when it works:
http://www.cs.cmu.edu/~biglou/ has fun ways to label with RDF.

*** Use plain English.
I wrote this email for 2nd grade, and tested with msWord.
I would need to be at least 12th grade to read Gregg’s email.
Received on Friday, 1 December 2006 22:05:24 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 5 February 2014 07:13:31 UTC