W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > semantic-web@w3.org > July 2010

Re: Show me the money - (was Subjects as Literals)

From: Patrick Durusau <patrick@durusau.net>
Date: Fri, 02 Jul 2010 06:49:49 -0400
Message-ID: <4C2DC44D.2060409@durusau.net>
To: Henry Story <henry.story@gmail.com>
CC: Ian Davis <lists@iandavis.com>, Pat Hayes <phayes@ihmc.us>, Jeremy Carroll <jeremy@topquadrant.com>, Yves Raimond <yves.raimond@gmail.com>, Toby Inkster <tai@g5n.co.uk>, David Booth <david@dbooth.org>, nathan@webr3.org, Dan Brickley <danbri@danbri.org>, Linked Data community <public-lod@w3.org>, Semantic Web <semantic-web@w3.org>
Henry,

On 7/2/2010 6:03 AM, Henry Story wrote:
> On 2 Jul 2010, at 11:57, Patrick Durusau wrote:
>
>    
>> On 7/2/2010 5:27 AM, Ian Davis wrote:
>>      
>>> On Fri, Jul 2, 2010 at 10:19 AM, Patrick Durusau<patrick@durusau.net>   wrote:
>>>
>>>
>>>        
>>>> I make this point in another post this morning but is your argument that
>>>> investment by vendors =
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>          
>>> I think I just answered it there, before reading this message. Let me
>>> know if not!
>>>
>>>
>>>        
>> I think you made a very good point about needing examples so user can say: "I want to do that."
>>
>> Which was one of the strong points of HTML.
>>      
> Ok, what users will want is the Social Web. And here is the way to convince people:
> "The Social Network Privacy Mess: Why we Need the Social Web"
>
>     http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=994DvSJZyww&feature=channel
>
>
> ( This can of course be improved) The general ideas should be clear:
>
>   dystopia: we cannot have all social data centralised on one server.
>   utopia: there is a lot of money to be made in creating the social web, and thereby
>      increasing democracy in the world.
>
>   This can ONLY be done with linked data. And there is a real need for it.
>
>    
Several presumptions:

1) "there is a lot of money to be made creating the social web" - ? On 
what economic model? Advertising? Can't simply presume that money can be 
made.

2) "thereby increasing democracy in the world" - ??? Not real sure what 
that has to do with social networks. However popular "increasing 
democracy" may be as a slogan, it is like "fighting terrorism."

Different governments and populations have different definitions for 
both. I have my own preferences but realize there are different 
definitions used by others.

3) "can ONLY be done with linked data." Really? Seems like the phone 
companies from your example did it long before linked data.

4) "there is a real need for it." ? I get as annoyed as anyone with the 
multiple logins and universities do have some common logins for their 
internal systems but I am not sure I would describe it as a need. At 
least until some survey shows that a large number of users are willing 
to pay for such a service.

Hope you are looking forward to a great weekend!

Patrick

> 	Henry
>    

-- 
Patrick Durusau
patrick@durusau.net
Chair, V1 - US TAG to JTC 1/SC 34
Convener, JTC 1/SC 34/WG 3 (Topic Maps)
Editor, OpenDocument Format TC (OASIS), Project Editor ISO/IEC 26300
Co-Editor, ISO/IEC 13250-1, 13250-5 (Topic Maps)

Another Word For It (blog): http://tm.durusau.net
Homepage: http://www.durusau.net
Twitter: patrickDurusau
Received on Friday, 2 July 2010 10:50:23 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 21:45:37 GMT