W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-xml-core-wg@w3.org > November 2007

Re: Proposed resolution of HRRI/IRI discussion

From: Henry S. Thompson <ht@inf.ed.ac.uk>
Date: Tue, 06 Nov 2007 13:58:20 +0000
To: Martin Duerst <duerst@it.aoyama.ac.jp>
Cc: Richard Tobin <richard@inf.ed.ac.uk>, Konrad Lanz <Konrad.Lanz@iaik.tugraz.at>, "Grosso, Paul" <pgrosso@ptc.com>, Richard Ishida <ishida@w3.org>, public-i18n-core@w3.org, public-xml-core-wg@w3.org, public-iri@w3.org
Message-ID: <f5b8x5bwk5f.fsf@hildegard.inf.ed.ac.uk>

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

Martin Duerst writes:

> I think one additional argument for not including '[' and ']'
> in escaping when going from Legacy Extended IRIs to IRIs is
> that for all the other characters, this can be done independent
> of syntax details, but for '[' and ']', it would have to be
> done in a context-dependent manner, because clearly these
> characters must not be escaped when they serve as delimiters
> for IPv6 addresses.

I agree.  I do not think we should change the status of [ and ], and I
think that is close to the consensus position of the Core WG.

ht
- -- 
 Henry S. Thompson, HCRC Language Technology Group, University of Edinburgh
                     Half-time member of W3C Team
    2 Buccleuch Place, Edinburgh EH8 9LW, SCOTLAND -- (44) 131 650-4440
            Fax: (44) 131 650-4587, e-mail: ht@inf.ed.ac.uk
                   URL: http://www.ltg.ed.ac.uk/~ht/
[mail really from me _always_ has this .sig -- mail without it is forged spam]
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1.2.6 (GNU/Linux)

iD8DBQFHMHL8kjnJixAXWBoRArtGAJ44ND//4tdaSwSTdYXvkhAjdYdlNgCfaNZf
0bJN2OhoBu+z3CD5TNurqzA=
=V7Ai
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
Received on Tuesday, 6 November 2007 13:59:22 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 6 January 2015 21:16:38 UTC