W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webfonts-wg@w3.org > April 2010

Re: What happens next?

From: John Daggett <jdaggett@mozilla.com>
Date: Thu, 15 Apr 2010 17:57:53 -0700 (PDT)
To: Sylvain Galineau <sylvaing@microsoft.com>
Cc: John Hudson <tiro@tiro.com>, public-webfonts-wg@w3.org, Vladimir Levantovsky <Vladimir.Levantovsky@MonotypeImaging.com>, list adam <list.adam@twardoch.com>, Chris Lilley <chris@w3.org>
Message-ID: <2138194590.6889.1271379473932.JavaMail.root@cm-mail03.mozilla.org>

Thanks Sylvain!

Alternating would be fine but midnight Tokyo during the summer has the unfortunate aspect of becoming 1am during the winter as Japan doesn't change times seasonally.

How about:

13:00 Boston time (defining it in GMT means the time changes seasonally no?)
* London  21:00
* Berlin  22:00
* Boston  16:00
* Seattle 13:00
* Tokyo   05:00 (would be 06:00 in the winter)

Less ideal for folks in Europe but far, far less sucky for me.  And we won't have a why-did-they-wake-me-for-this John Hudson too... ;)

Cheers,

John

----- Original Message -----
From: "Sylvain Galineau" <sylvaing@microsoft.com>
To: "Vladimir Levantovsky" <Vladimir.Levantovsky@MonotypeImaging.com>, "list adam" <list.adam@twardoch.com>, "Chris Lilley" <chris@w3.org>
Cc: "John Hudson" <tiro@tiro.com>, public-webfonts-wg@w3.org
Sent: Friday, April 16, 2010 2:20:30 AM
Subject: RE: What happens next?

Some open source communities - Ubuntu, I believe - alternate their weekly meeting time to accommodate all time zones i.e. one week the call will be in the morning in the US, the next week it will later in the day. I really feel bad about penalizing people who live in Asia every single week by having them call in at ridiculous hours. And that's before considering that we're asking John Daggett to do that.
 
-----Original Message-----
From: public-webfonts-wg-request@w3.org [mailto:public-webfonts-wg-request@w3.org] On Behalf Of Levantovsky, Vladimir
Sent: Thursday, April 15, 2010 7:16 AM
To: list.adam@twardoch.com; Chris Lilley
Cc: John Hudson; public-webfonts-wg@w3.org
Subject: RE: What happens next?

Either Tuesday or Wednesday would work for me.
As far as time is concerned, having group members both in Japan and Vancouver with Europe in between doesn't really give us a lot of choices. I hope John Daggett would be able to make it at midnight (and go strong for at least another hour).

Best regards,
Vlad


> -----Original Message-----
> From: public-webfonts-wg-request@w3.org [mailto:public-webfonts-wg- 
> request@w3.org] On Behalf Of Adam Twardoch (List)
> Sent: Wednesday, April 14, 2010 7:39 PM
> To: Chris Lilley
> Cc: John Hudson; public-webfonts-wg@w3.org
> Subject: Re: What happens next?
> 
> Chris,
> 
> 3:00 PM GMT would be:
> * 8:00 AM DST in Vancouver,
> * 11:00 AM DST in Boston,
> * midnight in Tokyo,
> * 5:00 PM DST in Berlin.
> 
> I think something like that could work for everyone involved. For me 
> personally, Wednesdays or perhaps Tuesdays (but not Thursdays) that 
> time would work fine.
> 
> Best,
> Adam
> 
> 
> On 10-04-14 16:54, Chris Lilley wrote:
> > On Wednesday, April 14, 2010, 8:28:38 AM, John wrote:
> >
> > JH> Vlad, Chris,
> >
> > JH> What happens next? Is there a plan/schedule in place, or a list
> of work
> > JH> items?
> >
> > John,
> >
> > There is a list of work items yes, in the charter. Sorry for the
> slightly uncomfortable delay .... I hope to be able to make an 
> announcement on Monday.
> >
> > Meanwhile we could start to work on a date and time for a regular
> weekly telephone conference. We have so far participants spread from 
> Western North America, Eadstern, Central Europe, and Japan.
> >
> >
> 
Received on Friday, 16 April 2010 00:58:28 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 16 April 2010 00:58:29 GMT