W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > July to September 2012

Re: [UndoManager] Disallowing live UndoManager on detached nodes

From: Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org>
Date: Thu, 23 Aug 2012 12:09:29 -0700
Message-ID: <CABNRm61pLXN7d=ZvH3QSOBEW_X+Fn2UjrDYezjAHHPRcnGUYuQ@mail.gmail.com>
To: olli@pettay.fi
Cc: Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>, Ojan Vafai <ojan@chromium.org>, Glenn Maynard <glenn@zewt.org>, public-webapps <public-webapps@w3.org>, Kentaro Hara <haraken@chromium.org>, Sukolsak Sakshuwong <sukolsak@google.com>, Adam Barth <abarth@webkit.org>, Ehsan Akhgari <ehsan@mozilla.com>, Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, Dimitri Glazkov <dglazkov@chromium.org>
On Thu, Aug 23, 2012 at 10:19 AM, Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org> wrote:

> On Thu, Aug 23, 2012 at 6:55 AM, Olli Pettay <Olli.Pettay@helsinki.fi>
>  wrote:
>>
>>  On 08/22/2012 11:16 PM, Maciej Stachowiak wrote:
>>
>>> But, again, letting webpages force that behavior in Safari seems wrong
>>> to me. I don't think we should allow violating the platform conventions for
>>> undo so freely. You seem to feel strongly that webpages should be able
>>> to align with the Gecko behavior, but wouldn't it be even worse to let them
>>> forcibly violate the WebKit behavior?
>>>
>>
>> It is not worse either way. Equally bad both ways. But, we're designing a
>> new API here, so we should make the API as good as possible from the start.
>> And I think that means allowing multiple undo stack must be in. The
>> default handling could be somehow platform specific.
>>
>
> Maybe I didn't make this point clear but we're not going to implement
> multiple undo managers in a single document (at least as it's currently
> spec'ed) in WebKit regardless of how useful that feature is. *Our
> implementation feedback is that we can't implement it*.
>

Let me rephrase this per Hixie's comment: *we're not willing to implement
it.*

- Ryosuke
Received on Thursday, 23 August 2012 19:10:16 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:54 GMT