W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > January to March 2012

Re: Disallowing mutation events in shadow DOM

From: Brian Kardell <bkardell@gmail.com>
Date: Thu, 23 Feb 2012 19:21:14 -0500
Message-ID: <CADC=+jf4xaOKv1n=Vr-dO7P3EU-bo9w72G=ZxKBH5UFXAd9=mQ@mail.gmail.com>
To: olli@pettay.fi
Cc: Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, public-webapps <public-webapps@w3.org>, Adam Klein <adamk@chromium.org>, Dimitri Glazkov <dglazkov@chromium.org>, Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org>
Yeah that was pretty much my feeling but always worth checking.
On Feb 23, 2012 7:13 PM, "Olli Pettay" <Olli.Pettay@helsinki.fi> wrote:
>
> On 02/24/2012 02:10 AM, Brian Kardell wrote:
>>
>> Just to be clear on this:  what is the status of mutation observers?
>
>
> They are in DOM 4. The API may still change a bit, but
> there is already one implementation, and another one close to
> ready.
>
>
>
>> If
>> there any chance shadow dom beats mutation observers to
>> standardization?
>
> AFAIK, shadow DOM is quite far from being stable.
>
>
>>  I don't think so, but just checking...  If that turned
>> out to be the case it could be crippling shadow dom until such a time..
>>
>> Brian
>>
>> On Feb 23, 2012 6:46 PM, "Dimitri Glazkov" <dglazkov@chromium.org
>> <mailto:dglazkov@chromium.org>> wrote:
>>
>>    Sounds good. Filed a bug here:
>>    https://www.w3.org/Bugs/Public/show_bug.cgi?id=16096
>>
>>    :DG<
>>
>>    On Thu, Feb 23, 2012 at 3:38 PM, Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org
>>    <mailto:rniwa@webkit.org>> wrote:
>>     > Can we disallow mutation events inside shadow DOM?
>>     >
>>     > There is no legacy content that depends on mutation events API
>>    inside shadow
>>     > DOM, and we have a nice spec & implementation of new mutation
>>    observer API
>>     > already.
>>     >
>>     > FYI, https://bugs.webkit.org/show_bug.cgi?id=79278
>>     >
>>     > Best,
>>     > Ryosuke Niwa
>>     > Software Engineer
>>     > Google Inc.
>>     >
>>     >
>>
>
Received on Friday, 24 February 2012 00:21:42 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:50 GMT