W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > January to March 2012

Re: Disallowing mutation events in shadow DOM

From: Olli Pettay <Olli.Pettay@helsinki.fi>
Date: Fri, 24 Feb 2012 02:13:16 +0200
Message-ID: <4F46D61C.4060106@helsinki.fi>
To: Brian Kardell <bkardell@gmail.com>
CC: Dimitri Glazkov <dglazkov@chromium.org>, Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, public-webapps <public-webapps@w3.org>, Adam Klein <adamk@chromium.org>, Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org>
On 02/24/2012 02:10 AM, Brian Kardell wrote:
> Just to be clear on this:  what is the status of mutation observers?

They are in DOM 4. The API may still change a bit, but
there is already one implementation, and another one close to
ready.


> If
> there any chance shadow dom beats mutation observers to
> standardization?
AFAIK, shadow DOM is quite far from being stable.


>  I don't think so, but just checking...  If that turned
> out to be the case it could be crippling shadow dom until such a time..
>
> Brian
>
> On Feb 23, 2012 6:46 PM, "Dimitri Glazkov" <dglazkov@chromium.org
> <mailto:dglazkov@chromium.org>> wrote:
>
>     Sounds good. Filed a bug here:
>     https://www.w3.org/Bugs/Public/show_bug.cgi?id=16096
>
>     :DG<
>
>     On Thu, Feb 23, 2012 at 3:38 PM, Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org
>     <mailto:rniwa@webkit.org>> wrote:
>      > Can we disallow mutation events inside shadow DOM?
>      >
>      > There is no legacy content that depends on mutation events API
>     inside shadow
>      > DOM, and we have a nice spec & implementation of new mutation
>     observer API
>      > already.
>      >
>      > FYI, https://bugs.webkit.org/show_bug.cgi?id=79278
>      >
>      > Best,
>      > Ryosuke Niwa
>      > Software Engineer
>      > Google Inc.
>      >
>      >
>
Received on Friday, 24 February 2012 00:13:43 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:50 GMT