W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > January to March 2012

Re: Disallowing mutation events in shadow DOM

From: Brian Kardell <bkardell@gmail.com>
Date: Thu, 23 Feb 2012 19:10:38 -0500
Message-ID: <CADC=+jf87e=tMuANyVuQ4Oqur5sy3dyDi7dLOenzs3DDekKuPw@mail.gmail.com>
To: Dimitri Glazkov <dglazkov@chromium.org>
Cc: Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, Olli Pettay <Olli.Pettay@helsinki.fi>, public-webapps <public-webapps@w3.org>, Adam Klein <adamk@chromium.org>, Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org>
Just to be clear on this:  what is the status of mutation observers?  If
there any chance shadow dom beats mutation observers to standardization?  I
don't think so, but just checking...  If that turned out to be the case it
could be crippling shadow dom until such a time..

Brian
On Feb 23, 2012 6:46 PM, "Dimitri Glazkov" <dglazkov@chromium.org> wrote:

> Sounds good. Filed a bug here:
> https://www.w3.org/Bugs/Public/show_bug.cgi?id=16096
>
> :DG<
>
> On Thu, Feb 23, 2012 at 3:38 PM, Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org> wrote:
> > Can we disallow mutation events inside shadow DOM?
> >
> > There is no legacy content that depends on mutation events API inside
> shadow
> > DOM, and we have a nice spec & implementation of new mutation observer
> API
> > already.
> >
> > FYI, https://bugs.webkit.org/show_bug.cgi?id=79278
> >
> > Best,
> > Ryosuke Niwa
> > Software Engineer
> > Google Inc.
> >
> >
>
>
Received on Friday, 24 February 2012 00:11:06 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:50 GMT