W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > January to March 2012

Re: [FileAPI] createObjectURL isReusable proposal

From: Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>
Date: Mon, 13 Feb 2012 23:56:39 -0500
Message-ID: <CA+c2ei92yycXru+r3C3nK6Mrf=-DRS2tVfrNiay43HqsexoyHw@mail.gmail.com>
To: Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
Cc: Arun Ranganathan <aranganathan@mozilla.com>, Darin Fisher <darin@chromium.org>, Glenn Maynard <glenn@zewt.org>, Adrian Bateman <adrianba@microsoft.com>, "Web Applications Working Group WG (public-webapps@w3.org)" <public-webapps@w3.org>, Feras Moussa <ferasm@microsoft.com>
On Thu, Feb 2, 2012 at 4:40 PM, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch> wrote:
> On Thu, 2 Feb 2012, Arun Ranganathan wrote:
>>
>> 2. Could we modify things so that img.src = blob is a reality? Mainly,
>> if we modify things for the *most common* use case, that could be useful
>> in mitigating some of our fears. Hixie, is this possible?
>
> Anything's possible, but I think the pain here would far outweigh the
> benefits. There would be some really hard questions to answer, too (e.g.
> what would innerHTML return? If you copied such an image from a
> contentEditable section and pasted it lower down the same section, would
> it still have the image?).

We could define that it returns an empty src attribute, which would
break the copy/paste example. That's the same behavior you'd get with
someone revoking the URL upon load anyway.

/ Jonas
Received on Tuesday, 14 February 2012 04:57:36 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:50 GMT