W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > January to March 2012

Re: Speech Recognition and Text-to-Speech Javascript API - seeking feedback for eventual standardization

From: Michael[tm] Smith <mike@w3.org>
Date: Wed, 11 Jan 2012 17:50:30 +0900
To: olli@pettay.fi
Cc: Arthur Barstow <art.barstow@nokia.com>, ext Satish S <satish@google.com>, Peter Beverloo <peter@chromium.org>, Glen Shires <gshires@google.com>, public-webapps@w3.org, public-xg-htmlspeech@w3.org, Dan Burnett <dburnett@voxeo.com>
Message-ID: <20120111085028.GE93112@sideshowbarker>
Olli Pettay <Olli.Pettay@helsinki.fi>, 2012-01-09 18:12 +0200:

> It doesn't matter too much to me in which group the API will be developed
> (except that I'm against doing it in HTML WG).
> WebApps is reasonably good place (if there won't be any IP issues.)

Starting the work in a Community Group is another option to consider. A
really good option, actually. It's certainly the quickest way to get it
started and to get a W3C draft actually published, and the route that would
entail the least amount of unnecessary process overhead. The work could
later be graduated to, e.g., the WebApps WG if/when needed.

  --Mike

-- 
Michael[tm] Smith
http://people.w3.org/mike/+
Received on Wednesday, 11 January 2012 08:50:40 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:49 GMT