W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > April to June 2012

[admin] short-names and 1-liners for our 7 new FPWDs

From: Arthur Barstow <art.barstow@nokia.com>
Date: Tue, 08 May 2012 15:10:48 -0400
Message-ID: <4FA96FB8.1090407@nokia.com>
To: public-webapps <public-webapps@w3.org>, Scott Graham <scottmg@chromium.org>, Ted Mielczarek <ted.mielczarek@gmail.com>, "Hironori Bono (坊野 博典)" <hbono@google.com>, Kenji Baheux <kenjibaheux@google.com>, Vincent Scheib <scheib@google.com>, Dimitri Glazkov <dglazkov@chromium.org>, Mounir Lamouri <mounir.lamouri@mozilla.com>, Mike Smith <mike@w3.org>
All - assuming the 7 CfCs I started on May 2 to publish new FPWDs 
passes, for each FPWD I will need to request a "short-name" as well as 
provided a "1-liner" description when the spec is published.

The short-name is the last part of the URI used in /TR/; f.ex. "workers" 
is the short-name for Web Workers (w3.org/TR/workers/) and "dom" is the 
short-name for DOM4 (w3.org/TR/dom/).

The "1-liner" is a short description of the spec; it is used f.ex. in 
<http://www.w3.org/standards/techs/js#w3c_all>

Anyhow, below are my proposals for the short-names and 1-liners for the 
7 FPWDs with CfCs that end May 9. If you can't live with a proposals, 
please state why and make a counter-proposal.

1. Gamepad; <http://dvcs.w3.org/hg/gamepad/raw-file/tip/gamepad.html>
short-name = gamepad
1-liner = "Defines a low-level interface that represents gamepad devices."

2. Pointer Lock; <http://dvcs.w3.org/hg/pointerlock/raw-file/tip/index.html>
short-name = pointerlock
1-liner = "Defines an API that provides scripted access to raw mouse 
movement data while locking the target of mouse events to a single 
element and removing the cursor from view"

3. Shawdow DOM; 
<http://dvcs.w3.org/hg/webcomponents/raw-file/tip/spec/shadow/index.html>
short-name = shadow-dom
1-liner = "Describes a method of establishing and maintaining functional 
boundaries between DOM subtrees and how these subtrees interact with 
each other within a document tree"

4. Web Components; 
<http://dvcs.w3.org/hg/webcomponents/raw-file/tip/explainer/index.html>
short-name = webcomponents
1-liner = "Provides an overview of Web Components"

5. Input Method Editor API; 
<http://dvcs.w3.org/hg/ime-api/raw-file/tip/Overview.html>
short-name = ime-api
1-liner = "Defines an API that provides Web applications with scripted 
access to an Input Method Editor"

6. Screen Orientation; 
<http://dvcs.w3.org/hg/screen-orientation/raw-file/tip/Overview.html>
short-name = screen-orientation
1-liner = "Defines APIs to read screen orientation state and to lock the 
screen orientation to a specific state."

7. URL; <http://dvcs.w3.org/hg/url/raw-file/tip/Overview.html>
short-name = url
1-liner = "Defines a URL API and related algorithms"

-Thanks, AB
Received on Tuesday, 8 May 2012 19:11:28 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:52 GMT