W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > July to September 2011

Re: [websockets] Making optional extensions mandatory in the API (was RE: Getting WebSockets API to Last Call)

From: Anne van Kesteren <annevk@opera.com>
Date: Wed, 27 Jul 2011 15:34:32 -0700
To: "James Robinson" <jamesr@google.com>, Ian Fette (イアンフェッティ) <ifette@google.com>
Cc: "Takeshi Yoshino" <tyoshino@google.com>, "Aryeh Gregor" <Simetrical+w3c@gmail.com>, "Adrian Bateman" <adrianba@microsoft.com>, "Web Applications Working Group WG (public-webapps@w3.org)" <public-webapps@w3.org>, "Maciej Stachowiak" <mjs@apple.com>, "Arthur Barstow" <art.barstow@nokia.com>, "Ian Hickson" <ian@hixie.ch>, "jonas@sicking.cc" <jonas@sicking.cc>, "simonp@opera.com" <simonp@opera.com>, "Brian Raymor" <Brian.Raymor@microsoft.com>, "Greg Wilkins" <gregw@intalio.com>
Message-ID: <op.vzaubuc064w2qv@42-2-187-074.static.netvigator.com>
On Wed, 27 Jul 2011 15:31:28 -0700, Ian Fette (イアンフェッティ)  
<ifette@google.com> wrote:
> I agree we shouldn't require deflate-stream it in the API. I don't agree  
> the API should specify an exact set of extensions, as that would prevent  
> any
> future versions/developments. A minimum baseline would be reasonable  
> though, once we have that minimum baseline in place (e.g. a stable set  
> of extensions that are well tested, such as compression and  
> multiplexing). I don't think we should put the cart before the horse.

The API specification is not frozen. Case in point: http://html5.org/r/6330


-- 
Anne van Kesteren
http://annevankesteren.nl/
Received on Wednesday, 27 July 2011 22:35:33 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:46 GMT