W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > October to December 2010

Re: XHR responseArrayBuffer attribute: suggestion to replace "asBlob" with "responseType"

From: Chris Rogers <crogers@google.com>
Date: Tue, 2 Nov 2010 15:59:44 -0700
Message-ID: <AANLkTikDOKC2O1smB0TmEd5bke31T_nsP_E2fpygeUSm@mail.gmail.com>
To: Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>
Cc: Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>, Boris Zbarsky <bzbarsky@mit.edu>, Geoffrey Garen <ggaren@apple.com>, Darin Fisher <darin@chromium.org>, Web Applications Working Group WG <public-webapps@w3.org>, Anne van Kesteren <annevk@opera.com>, Eric Uhrhane <ericu@google.com>, michaeln@google.com, Alexey Proskuryakov <ap@webkit.org>, Chris Marrin <cmarrin@apple.com>, jorlow@google.com, jamesr@chromium.org
I just had a short talk with Darin Fisher and he suggested that instead of
.responseType taking a string value, that it could be an enum value of
XMLHttpRequest, something like:

        const unsigned short RESPONSETYPE_DEFAULT = 0;
        const unsigned short RESPONSETYPE_BINARY = 1;
        const unsigned short RESPONSETYPE_BLOB = 2;
        const unsigned short RESPONSETYPE_STREAM = 3;

Then it would be more easily discoverable if a particular type was
supported.

Chris
Received on Tuesday, 2 November 2010 23:00:16 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:41 GMT