W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapi@w3.org > April 2008

Moving the AC4CSR spec forward [Was: Re: What is Microsoft's intent with XDR vis-a-vis W3C?]

From: Arthur Barstow <art.barstow@nokia.com>
Date: Fri, 4 Apr 2008 13:06:41 -0400
Message-Id: <885EC102-709B-4224-9461-02C2A911AEFF@nokia.com>
Cc: Nikhil Kothari <nikhilko@microsoft.com>, Zhenbin Xu <zhenbinx@windows.microsoft.com>, David Ross <dross@windows.microsoft.com>, Sharath Udupa <Sharath.Udupa@microsoft.com>, Marc Silbey <marcsil@windows.microsoft.com>, Doug Stamper <dstamper@exchange.microsoft.com>, Gideon Cohn <gidco@windows.microsoft.com>, Chris Wilson <Chris.Wilson@microsoft.com>
To: "ext Michael(tm) Smith" <mike@w3.org>, Tyler Close <tyler.close@hp.com>, Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, Eric Lawrence <ericlaw@exchange.microsoft.com>, Sunava Dutta <sunavad@windows.microsoft.com>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, "Web API WG (public)" <public-webapi@w3.org>, public-appformats@w3.org

Mike, All,

On Apr 3, 2008, at 12:46 AM, ext Michael(tm) Smith wrote:

> "Close, Tyler J." <tyler.close@hp.com>, 2008-04-02 23:52 +0000:
>
>> I think the AC4CSR spec is a goner, and so appreciate Microsoft
>> stepping up with a proposal that seems more likely to survive
>> study and deployment. Given the Mozilla announcement, now seems
>> like the right time to move on from the AC4CSR proposal.
>
> Speaking as the W3C team contact for the space in which this work
> is being done, I want to note that the decision about how to
> progress with the Access Control spec rests with the chair and
> members of the working group who have invested many months now in
> having active, open, public discussion around it and the use cases
> and requirements underlying it.

None of the members of the WG have indicated the work on the AC4CSR  
spec should stop thus it is still an active work item. I've noted:

Jonas indicated [1] he is working on a solution to the cookie issue  
he raised. I encourage others to contribute to this effort.

Maciej indicated [2] he will analyze the attack issues raised and  
respond.

Regarding the "tone" issue Tyler raised [3], I will respond to that  
separately (on WAF WG's public mail list).

-Regards, Art Barstow

[1] <http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-appformats/2008Mar/ 
0000.html>
[2] <http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-appformats/2008Apr/ 
0014.html>
[3] <http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-appformats/2008Apr/ 
0012.html>
Received on Friday, 4 April 2008 17:09:04 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 4 April 2008 17:09:05 GMT