W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-web-perf@w3.org > December 2013

Re: [beacon] no limits, no retry, no batching, post only

From: Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>
Date: Mon, 2 Dec 2013 20:12:52 -0800
Message-ID: <CA+c2ei95puT+BgrSNCBRErUEc-5WviTU1ReYKe9mwTT7OfE-fQ@mail.gmail.com>
To: Doug Turner <doug.turner@gmail.com>
Cc: Arvind Jain <arvind@google.com>, Yoav Weiss <yoav@yoav.ws>, Ilya Grigorik <igrigorik@google.com>, Jatinder Mann <jmann@microsoft.com>, John Mellor <johnme@google.com>, "public-web-perf@w3.org" <public-web-perf@w3.org>
On Mon, Dec 2, 2013 at 7:43 PM, Doug Turner <doug.turner@gmail.com> wrote:
> Having this be a synchronous API is going to be troublesome to implement.
> Please consider doing asynchronous.

I agree that it makes the API significantly harder to implement.
Simply returning a Promise does not work though as a beacon created
during onunload (which is one of the main use cases) will return a
promise that won't get resolved until the user leaves the page.

So I think that leaves us with
* Put in place strict limits as to make returning a result less important.
* Add an API which exposes pass/fail results of old requests from
previous page loads.
* Deal with the implementation complexities of sync results.
* Allow the page to query UA-limits prior to creating the beacon.

The last option is somewhat hard given that simply having a
per-request limit is fairly useless. Any implementation will want to
have some form of max-queued-size limit as well.

/ Jonas
Received on Tuesday, 3 December 2013 04:13:50 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 6 January 2015 21:04:37 UTC