W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-vocabs@w3.org > May 2015

Re: Sustainable Codes vs Volatile URIs Re: URIs / Ontology for Physical Units and Quantities

From: Wes Turner <wes.turner@gmail.com>
Date: Sat, 9 May 2015 19:14:47 -0500
Message-ID: <CACfEFw8Scb3enpp3gdy=ta3MUE-G=YobrtJBDFKMMBa-vV_jWA@mail.gmail.com>
To: Peter Krauss <ppkrauss@gmail.com>
Cc: phila@w3.org, Simon.Cox@csiro.au, Terry.Rankine@csiro.au, Bernard Vatant <bernard.vatant@mondeca.com>, W3C Vocabularies <public-vocabs@w3.org>, mark.harrison@cantab.net
It could be helpful to publish a guide detailing home to namespace keys as
URNs (as suggested, with I default URN resolver).
On May 9, 2015 5:04 PM, "Peter Krauss" <ppkrauss@gmail.com> wrote:

> Simon,
>
> 2015-05-08 0:36 GMT-03:00 <Simon.Cox@csiro.au>:
>
>> Phil -
>>
>> I took a look through the Community Groups, and found
>>     https://www.w3.org/community/perma-id/#
>> which it appears you are/were involved in. AFAICT the outcome of that
>> work is
>>     http://w3id.org/
>> which hosts redirects, and is intended to do this indefinitely. So anyone
>> who has a resource-set (including a list of definitions) for which they
>> would like a neutral/persistent baseURI, can request a directory (by
>> issuing a pull-request), and hope it is approved by the administrators.
>> Have I got it?
>>
>>
> Thanks!
> You find a good initiative/community that (looks to) fit with the "URN as
> code" for SchemaOrg demands...
> Only to confirm: the suggestion is to use w3id.org as baseURI of URNs and
> URN-Resolvers?
>
>
>
>> Schema.org already has a small presence.
>>
>>
> If SchemaOrg evolves in this direction, what the strategy?
> Perhaps we need first to do some homework ;-)
> (I am starting to do mine here <https://github.com/ppKrauss/standard-URNs>
> )
>
>
>
>
>> The technology is rather trivial - it is the intention which matters.
>>
>
> yes
>
>
>> But it looks like a lighter-weight alternative to http://w3.org/ns -
>> though governance is currently rather informal.
>>
>>
> yes, better alternative...
> Perhaps with SchemaOrg participation, some curatory aspects can be
> formalized.
>
> PPKrauss
>
>
>
Received on Sunday, 10 May 2015 00:15:16 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Sunday, 10 May 2015 00:15:17 UTC