W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-tracking@w3.org > October 2012

Re: Proposed Text for Local Law and Public Purpose

From: David Wainberg <david@networkadvertising.org>
Date: Wed, 24 Oct 2012 09:33:05 -0400
Message-ID: <5087EE11.1080807@networkadvertising.org>
To: John Simpson <john@consumerwatchdog.org>
CC: Chris Mejia <chris.mejia@iab.net>, Jonathan Mayer <jmayer@stanford.edu>, "Dobbs, Brooks" <Brooks.Dobbs@kbmg.com>, Kimon Zorbas <vp@iabeurope.eu>, Jeffrey Chester <jeff@democraticmedia.org>, "Amy Colando (LCA)" <acolando@microsoft.com>, "Richard Weaver (Comscore)" <rweaver@comscore.com>, "public-tracking@w3.org" <public-tracking@w3.org>
Hi John,

On 10/23/12 8:06 PM, John Simpson wrote:
>
> It seems extremely relevant to this Working Group to understand the 
> answers to the clarifying questions that Ed and I have raised.  I 
> don't see why a call is necessary for that.
>
I disagree that this is a relevant conversation. It is not for this 
group to deeply examine, interpret, and pass judgment on the 
requirements of another organization. As this group has decided to take 
the approach of permitted uses, then measurement and auditing are 
permitted uses or not. Attempts to now be highly prescriptive about the 
nature of those uses are unproductive. Likewise, attempts to anticipate 
every possible sneaky way a bad actor might try to circumvent this 
voluntary standard are also unproductive.

On the other hand, if we could start with a list of specific types of 
data and specific risks associated with that data, and then target our 
solutions to those risks, that would be, in my view, a more effective 
way forward. (Or, perhaps, we could work from a definition of tracking.) 
To get started, here's a list of data elements typically available to a 
third party ad network. I'm sure others on the list can add to it.

cookie ID

IP address

user agent

date and time

referrer URL


Regards,

David

> I ask you again to please answer them.
>
> ----------
> John M. Simpson
> Consumer Advocate
> Consumer Watchdog
> 2701 Ocean Park Blvd., Suite 112
> Santa Monica, CA,90405
> Tel: 310-392-7041
> Cell: 310-292-1902
> www.ConsumerWatchdog.org <http://www.ConsumerWatchdog.org>
> john@consumerwatchdog.org <mailto:john@consumerwatchdog.org>
>
>
>
Received on Wednesday, 24 October 2012 13:33:34 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Friday, 21 June 2013 10:11:36 UTC