W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-tracking@w3.org > November 2011

Re: Issue-17, Issue-51 First party obligations

From: Jonathan Mayer <jmayer@stanford.edu>
Date: Tue, 29 Nov 2011 17:56:31 -0800
Cc: David Wainberg <dwainberg@appnexus.com>, Sean Harvey <sharvey@google.com>, Jeffrey Chester <jeff@democraticmedia.org>, JC Cannon <jccannon@microsoft.com>, John Simpson <john@consumerwatchdog.org>, "<public-tracking@w3.org> (public-tracking@w3.org)" <public-tracking@w3.org>
Message-Id: <D0F62FEB-9782-4121-8130-38B64FBB818B@stanford.edu>
To: Karl Dubost <karld@opera.com>
I believe shared-browser problems and solutions are no different for these privacy-preserving approaches.

On Nov 29, 2011, at 5:04 PM, Karl Dubost wrote:

> Jonathan,
> 
> Le 29 nov. 2011 à 19:09, Jonathan Mayer a écrit :
>> There have been several proposed third-party service designs that would mitigate varying degrees of privacy risk.  See http://donottrack.us/bib/#sec_technology and http://donottrack.us/cookbook/.  Client-side storage is a common starting point.
> 
> Were there solutions proposed for cases where the browser and/or device is used by multiple persons?
> 
> from the top of my head, these are common scenarios.
> 
> * family with one computer at home
> * cybercafes (regular users and travelers)
> * one mobile device/phone shared by a community (developing countries, tablets in western world)
> 
> Thanks.
> 
> -- 
> Karl Dubost - http://dev.opera.com/
> Developer Relations & Tools, Opera Software
> 
Received on Wednesday, 30 November 2011 01:57:01 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Friday, 21 June 2013 10:11:22 UTC