W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-speech-api@w3.org > June 2012

Re: Co-chair

From: Bjorn Bringert <bringert@google.com>
Date: Tue, 12 Jun 2012 11:04:46 +0100
Message-ID: <CAJtyJaW9ZZcKQg0xOxGngfOq_TeBehfVHC3KGnLKrh=58eaAnA@mail.gmail.com>
To: Satish S <satish@google.com>
Cc: "Young, Milan" <Milan.Young@nuance.com>, "Raj (Openstream)" <raj@openstream.com>, Deborah Dahl <dahl@conversational-technologies.com>, Glen Shires <gshires@google.com>, "public-speech-api@w3.org" <public-speech-api@w3.org>
On Tue, Jun 12, 2012 at 10:44 AM, Satish S <satish@google.com> wrote:
>> Support for EMMA (FPR-4) was the second-most demanded feature of such an
>> API, yet this group has been haggling since inception on whether we need
>> such a feature at all.  It would be one thing if the arguments were part of
>> a grass roots movement across the industry, but they are not.  The opponents
>> are almost unanimously aligned under the Google flag which holds both the
>> chair and editor positions.  This doesn't feel like a community.
>
>
> Looking back at the mailing list archives, it is clear that most of the
> questions about EMMA usage were raised by me and I am neither a chair nor an
> editor. Adding more chairs to the CG isn't going to change this. To their
> credit both Glen and Hans have been trying find a common language among all
> the discussions.
>
> Also note that all of my proposals and questions come from my web developer
> background and such perspectives are something the group will get a lot when
> taking the API proposal to the standards track.
>
> What we clearly need is to get more web developers and UA vendors
> participate, not more chairs or editors.

+1

-- 
Bjorn Bringert
Google UK Limited, Registered Office: Belgrave House, 76 Buckingham
Palace Road, London, SW1W 9TQ
Registered in England Number: 3977902
Received on Tuesday, 12 June 2012 10:14:31 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 12 June 2012 10:14:32 GMT