W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org > May 2011

HCLS Sci Discourse Call, Monday, May 23 10 am EST, 3 pm BST: Joanne Luciano on SADI and Alex Garcia on RDFising BIomedical Documents,

From: Waard, Anita de A (ELS-AMS) <A.dewaard@elsevier.com>
Date: Sat, 21 May 2011 23:25:55 +0200
Message-ID: <994C62F4D342094CB0A2A3431B8ED8500A9D5CD2@ELSAMSEXCP02VA.science.regn.net>
To: "Waard, Anita de A (ELS-AMS)" <A.dewaard@elsevier.com>, "Jodi Schneider" <jodi.schneider@deri.org>
Cc: "Michael Miller" <Michael.Miller@systemsbiology.org>, "M. Scott Marshall" <mscottmarshall@gmail.com>, "Alexander Garcia Castro" <alexgarciac@gmail.com>, "barend mons" <barend.mons@nbic.nl>, "Tim Clark" <tim_clark@harvard.edu>, "HCLS IG" <public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org>, "Alberto Accomazzi" <aaccomazzi@cfa.harvard.edu>, "Sophia Ananiadou" <Sophia.Ananiadou@manchester.ac.uk>, "Philip Bourne" <bourne@sdsc.edu>, "Gully Burns" <gully@usc.edu>, "Daniel, Ronald (ELS-SDG)" <R.Daniel@elsevier.com>, "Rahul Dave" <rahuldave@gmail.com>, "Alf Eaton" <A.Eaton@nature.com>, "Matthew Gamble" <matthew.gamble@gmail.com>, "Yolanda Gil" <gil@isi.edu>, "Alyssa Goodman" <agoodman@cfa.harvard.edu>, "Paul Groth" <pgroth@gmail.com>, "Tudor Groza" <tudor.groza@deri.org>, "Hays, Ellen (ELS-BUR)" <E.Hays@elsevier.com>, "Maryann Martone" <maryann@ncmir.ucsd.edu>, "David R Newman" <drn05r@ecs.soton.ac.uk>, "Scerri, Antony (ELS-CAM)" <A.scerri@elsevier.com>, "Jack Park" <jackpark@gmail.com>, "Silvio Peroni" <speroni@cs.unibo.it>, "Steve Pettifer" <steve.pettifer@manchester.ac.uk>, "Philippe Rocca-Serra" <proccaserra@googlemail.com>, "Cartic Ramakrishnan" <cartic@isi.edu>, "RebholzSchuhmann" <d.rebholz.schuhmann@gmail.com>, "David Shotton" <david.shotton@zoo.ox.ac.uk>, "Kaitlin Thaney" <k.thaney@digital-science.com>, "Karin Verspoor" <Karin.Verspoor@ucdenver.edu>, "Lynette Hirschman" <lynette@mitre.org>, "Susanna-Assunta Sansone" <sa.sansone@gmail.com>, "Kees van Bochove" <business@keesvanbochove.nl>, "Katy Wolstencroft" <katy@cs.man.ac.uk>, "Jun Zhao" <jun.zhao@zoo.ox.ac.uk>, "Paul Groth" <pgroth@few.vu.nl>, "Marco Roos" <M.Roos1@uva.nl>
Dear all,

To compensate for two weeks of silence, we proudly announce two speakers for the next HCLS call on Monday, May 23rd:

First, Joanne Luciano of RPI will be speaking on 23 May about the SADI architecture training workshop she attended in Canada.  

"SADI – Semantic Automated Discovery and Integration – is a set of standards-compliant Semantic Web Service design patterns that exploit the relatively straightforward interfaces exposed by most Bioinformatics Services to simplify and partially automate Service design and deployment. The SADI design explicitly exposes an important Service feature – the semantic relationship between input and output data." -- from Wilkinson, Vandervalk and McCarthy 2009 http://sadiframework.org/documentation/SADI_SWSIP09_personal.pdf.  

Also see this link http://sadiframework.org/content/

Next, Alex Garcia of Bremen University will talk on “RDF-ising research documents in the biomedical domain, a case study". For a list of Alex’s papers, see http://www.alexandergarcia.name/node/4

Links and phone details can be found at http://www.w3.org/wiki/HCLSIG/SWANSIOC/Actions/RhetoricalStructure/meetings/20110523.

Hope you can join us on Monday! 

Best,

- Anita.  

Anita de Waard
Disruptive Technologies Director, Elsevier Labs
http://elsatglabs.com/labs/anita/
a.dewaard@elsevier.com
Elsevier B.V. Registered Office: Radarweg 29, 1043 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands, Registration No. 33156677 (The Netherlands)

Received on Saturday, 21 May 2011 21:29:34 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:01:01 GMT