W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org > July 2011

Scientific Discourse Meeting, July 11, 2011: Talk by Adrian Walker

From: Waard, Anita de A (ELS-AMS) <A.dewaard@elsevier.com>
Date: Fri, 8 Jul 2011 20:12:03 +0200
Message-ID: <994C62F4D342094CB0A2A3431B8ED8500A9D5F34@ELSAMSEXCP02VA.science.regn.net>
To: "Waard, Anita de A (ELS-AMS)" <A.dewaard@elsevier.com>, "Tim Clark" <tim_clark@harvard.edu>
Cc: "HCLS IG" <public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org>, "Alberto Accomazzi" <aaccomazzi@cfa.harvard.edu>, "Sophia Ananiadou" <Sophia.Ananiadou@manchester.ac.uk>, "Philip Bourne" <bourne@sdsc.edu>, "Gully Burns" <gully@usc.edu>, "Daniel, Ronald (ELS-SDG)" <R.Daniel@elsevier.com>, "Rahul Dave" <rahuldave@gmail.com>, "Alf Eaton" <A.Eaton@nature.com>, "Alexander Garcia Castro" <alexgarciac@gmail.com>, "Matthew Gamble" <matthew.gamble@gmail.com>, "Yolanda Gil" <gil@isi.edu>, "Alyssa Goodman" <agoodman@cfa.harvard.edu>, "Paul Groth" <pgroth@gmail.com>, "Tudor Groza" <tudor.groza@deri.org>, "Hays, Ellen (ELS-BUR)" <E.Hays@elsevier.com>, "Maryann Martone" <maryann@ncmir.ucsd.edu>, "David R Newman" <drn05r@ecs.soton.ac.uk>, "Scerri, Antony (ELS-CAM)" <A.scerri@elsevier.com>, "Jack Park" <jackpark@gmail.com>, "Silvio Peroni" <speroni@cs.unibo.it>, "Steve Pettifer" <steve.pettifer@manchester.ac.uk>, "Philippe Rocca-Serra" <proccaserra@googlemail.com>, "Cartic Ramakrishnan" <cartic@isi.edu>, "Jodi Schneider" <jodi.schneider@deri.org>, "David Shotton" <david.shotton@zoo.ox.ac.uk>, "Kaitlin Thaney" <k.thaney@digital-science.com>, "Karin Verspoor" <Karin.Verspoor@ucdenver.edu>, "Lynette Hirschman" <lynette@mitre.org>, "Susanna-Assunta Sansone" <sa.sansone@gmail.com>, "Kees van Bochove" <business@keesvanbochove.nl>, "Katy Wolstencroft" <katy@cs.man.ac.uk>, "Jun Zhao" <jun.zhao@zoo.ox.ac.uk>, <adriandwalker@gmail.com>
Dear all,  

You are cordially invited to the Scientific Discourse call on Monday, July 11th, where Adrian Walker from will give a talk on 'Application Semantics via Rules in Open Vocabulary Executable English':

Application Semantics via Rules in Open Vocabulary Executable English

Adrian Walker, Reengineering LLC

There has been much progress assigning semantics to data. However the meaning that resides in an application (or in a SPARQL query) should be taken into account. Even if data identifiers and ontologies have really fine readable meanings, an application can change the semantics completely. And, unless there are explanations of what the app has done, no-one will be any the wiser unless the error is egregious (eg - the Eiffel tower is a dog).

This talk describes a system on the Web that combines three kinds of semantics -- (a) data -- as in SQL or RDF, (b) inference -- via a theory of declarative knowledge, and (c) open vocabulary English. The combination is used to answer questions over networked databases, and to explain the results in hypertexted English. The subject knowledge needed to do this can be acquired in social network style, by typing executable English into browsers.

Slides: http://www.reengineeringllc.com/Internet_Business_Logic_e-Government_Presentation.pdf

Video: http://www.reengineeringllc.com/ibldrugdbdemo1.htm (video with audio)  

Agenda and dailin details can be found at http://www.w3.org/wiki/HCLSIG/SWANSIOC/Actions/RhetoricalStructure/meetings/20110711

We think the topic will be of interest to a broader audience than the 'regular' scientific discourse group, and welcome you all to this call. 

Best, 

- Anita.  

Anita de Waard
Disruptive Technologies Director, Elsevier Labs
http://elsatglabs.com/labs/anita/
a.dewaard@elsevier.com
Elsevier B.V. Registered Office: Radarweg 29, 1043 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands, Registration No. 33156677 (The Netherlands)

Received on Friday, 8 July 2011 18:19:29 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:01:02 GMT