W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org > November 2010

ORB, DoCO and DRO - discussion re Rhetorical Document Model Subtask conference call November 15 2010

From: David Shotton <david.shotton@zoo.ox.ac.uk>
Date: Wed, 17 Nov 2010 17:53:57 +0000
Message-ID: <4CE416B5.5070408@zoo.ox.ac.uk>
To: Paolo Ciccarese <paolo.ciccarese@gmail.com>, "M. Scott Marshall" <mscottmarshall@gmail.com>
CC: HCLS IG <public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org>, Tim Clark <tim_clark@harvard.edu>, "John F. Madden" <john.madden@duke.edu>, Alberto Accomazzi <aaccomazzi@cfa.harvard.edu>, Sophia Ananiadou <Sophia.Ananiadou@manchester.ac.uk>, Gully Burns <gully@usc.edu>, "Ronald (ELS-SDG) Daniel" <R.Daniel@elsevier.com>, Rahul Dave <rahuldave@gmail.com>, Anita de Waard <A.dewaard@elsevier.com>, Alf Eaton <A.Eaton@nature.com>, Alyssa Goodman <agoodman@cfa.harvard.edu>, Paul Groth <pgroth@gmail.com>, Tudor Groza <tudor.groza@deri.org>, ellen hays <E.Hays@elsevier.com>, "Antony (ELS-CAM) Scerri" <A.scerri@elsevier.com>, Jack Park <jackpark@gmail.com>, Silvio Peroni <speroni@cs.unibo.it>, Philippe Rocca-Serra <proccaserra@googlemail.com>, Karin Verspoor <Karin.Verspoor@ucdenver.edu>, Lynette Hirschman <lynette@mitre.org>, Susanna-Assunta Sansone <sansone@ebi.ac.uk>, Jun Zhao <jun.zhao@zoo.ox.ac.uk>, "Joanne Luciano (gmail)" <jluciano@gmail.com>, Alexander Garcia Castro <alexgarciac@gmail.com>, Jodi Schneider <jodi.schneider@deri.org>
  Dear All,

Thanks for a very helpful discussion on Monday afternoon.  I have put 
onto paper my thoughts on the integration of ORB, DoCO and Anita's 
proposed medium-grained Document Rhetoric Ontology, attached as a PDF 
containing some illustrative examples from papers.  I hope this will 
stimulate discussion, and can be used as a basis for further development.

As far as DoCO is concerned, the attached paper supplements the DoCO 
architecture diagram (http://bit.ly/b383VR) and the marked-up journal 
article examples (http://bit.ly/d0VhJr) previously sent.  Following 
suggestions from Philippe, we have today extended DoCO to handle text 
chunks dealing with accession numbers and supplementary information.  We 
added a new subclass to /doco:RhetoricalComponent /

    */doco:ExternalResourceDescription/* "Information describing an
    external resource and including a reference to that resource."

which has two sub-classes

        /*doco:DatasetDescription* "/Information describing a dataset
        held in an external database or repository and including a
        reference to it, such as a database ID or an accession number."

and

        */doco:SupplementaryInformationDescription/* "Information
        describing supplementary information relating to the document,
        including references or links to the relevant supplementary
        information."

These can be used to provide the appropriate rhetorical description for 
a section of text, located either in the body of the document or in the 
back matter.  The word "description" is included in these class names to 
clarify the fact that these are textual descriptions /about /those 
resources, not the resources themselves.

The enhanced version of DoCO is available at http://purl.org/spar/doco/.

I hope I have included as recipients of this message all those who 
participated in Monday's call, but if I have omitted anyone, please 
forward this to them.  Thanks.

Kind regards,

David

> Dear all,
>
> I would like to invite you to join the HCLS-SIG/Scientific discourse/Rhetorical Document subtask phone meeting on Monday, November 15th.
>
> Agenda and details are below and, with hyperlinks to the use cases, at http://esw.w3.org/HCLSIG/SWANSIOC/Actions/RhetoricalStructure/meetings/20101115.
>
> We will discuss the goals and driving use cases of the subtask, and provide the 'Ontology of Rhetorical Blocks' for your comment.
>
> Please let me know if there are any items you would like to add to our agenda.
>
> With kind regards,
>
> Anita

> Meeting November 15 2010, 10 am EDT
>
> 1. Recap goals and use cases for the Rhetorical Document Model Subtask:
>
>     * Coarse-grained model: [http://esw.w3.org/HCLSIG/SWANSIOC/Actions/RhetoricalStructure/UseCases/3]
>     * Medium-grained model: [http://esw.w3.org/HCLSIG/SWANSIOC/Actions/RhetoricalStructure/UseCases/2]
>     * Fine-grained model: [http://esw.w3.org/HCLSIG/SWANSIOC/Actions/RhetoricalStructure/UseCases/1]
>
> 2. ORB progress: [http://esw.w3.org/images/d/d2/Orb-0_1.owl]
>
> 3. Medium-grained progress: first pass at [http://esw.w3.org/HCLSIG/SWANSIOC/Actions/RhetoricalStructure/models/medium], very much open for discussion.
>
> 3. David Shotton and group: DoCo status (http://opencitations.wordpress.com/2010/10/14/introducing-the-semantic-publishing-and-referencing-spar-ontologies/), overlap with ORB.
>
> 4. Next steps.
>
-- 

Dr David Shotton david.shotton@zoo.ox.ac.uk 
<mailto:mailto:david.shotton@zoo.ox.ac.uk>
Reader in Image Bioinformatics

Image Bioinformatics Research Group http://ibrg.zoo.ox.ac.uk
Department of Zoology, University of Oxford                  tel: 
+44-(0)1865-271193
South Parks Road, Oxford OX1 3PS, UK                    fax: 
+44-(0)1865-310447




Received on Wednesday, 17 November 2010 17:54:32 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:01:00 GMT