W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org > May 2010

RE: Reminder: Scientific Discourse Concall May 3, 10am EDT

From: Michael Miller <mmiller@teranode.com>
Date: Mon, 3 May 2010 15:34:31 -0700
Message-ID: <69a3a09b8f6d6ee7850a7e3d3e98d8dc@mail.gmail.com>
To: "M. Scott Marshall" <marshall@science.uva.nl>, Susanna-Assunta Sansone <sansone@ebi.ac.uk>
Cc: Tim Clark <tim_clark@harvard.edu>, HCLS IG <public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org>, "Anita de A (ELS-AMS) Waard" <A.dewaard@elsevier.com>, Annamaria Carusi <annamaria.carusi@oerc.ox.ac.uk>, David Shotton <david.shotton@zoo.ox.ac.uk>, Carole Goble <carole.goble@manchester.ac.uk>, David R Newman <drn05r@ecs.soton.ac.uk>, Matthew Gamble <matthew.gamble@gmail.com>, Satya Sahoo <satya_sanket@hotmail.com>, Jun Zhao <jun.zhao@zoo.ox.ac.uk>, David DeRoure <dder@ecs.soton.ac.uk>, Michel Dumontier <michel.dumontier@gmail.com>, Ted Liefeld <liefeld@broadinstitute.org>, Alexander Pico <apico@gladstone.ucsf.edu>
hi scott,

> >>> Data + Experiment subtask_ - - integrating SWAN, myExperiment, MGED
> and OBI

the reference to 'MGED' was "it's", it should be the "MGED Ontology" or
MO.

also, although MO is deprecated, documents retrieved from ArrayExpress and
caArray will likely carry MO terms for awhile.

cheers,
michael


> -----Original Message-----
> From: mscottmarshall@gmail.com [mailto:mscottmarshall@gmail.com] On
> Behalf Of M. Scott Marshall
> Sent: Monday, May 03, 2010 3:20 PM
> To: Susanna-Assunta Sansone
> Cc: Tim Clark; Michael Miller; HCLS IG; Anita de A (ELS-AMS) Waard;
> Annamaria Carusi; David Shotton; Carole Goble; David R Newman; Matthew
> Gamble; Satya Sahoo; Jun Zhao; David DeRoure; Michel Dumontier; Ted
> Liefeld; Alexander Pico
> Subject: Re: Reminder: Scientific Discourse Concall May 3, 10am EDT
>
> Hi Susanna,
>
> Thanks for the pointer. Actually, we are already using OBI. I'm not
> sure what "it's" refers to in Michael's message (I presume that he was
> correcting a reference in another message) but I am pretty sure that
> he is also aware of these important points.
>
> -Scott
>
> On Mon, May 3, 2010 at 3:01 PM, Susanna-Assunta Sansone
> <sansone@ebi.ac.uk> wrote:
> > Hi Tim and all,
> >
> > note that OBI replaces MO (terms from the latter are being
> > decomposed/defined  -where relevant-and enclosed in the fomer).
> > You'd better use OBI directly to avoid confusion.
> >
> > Susanna
> >
> > Tim Clark wrote:
> >>
> >> I stand corrected and will use that terminology in future.  Thanks
> >> Michael.
> >>
> >> Tim
> >>
> >> On May 3, 2010, at 11:00 AM, Michael Miller wrote:
> >>
> >>> hi all,
> >>>
> >>>
> >>> it's the MGED Ontology, or MO.  MGED is a non-profit organization
> with
> >>> many initiatives in the standards area, particularly MIAME, MAGE-OM
> >>> (MAGE-ML, MAGE-TAB), in next gene sequencing, and MO.  we also have
> our
> >>> upcoming yearly meeting in conjunction with ISMB in july.
> >>>
> >>>
> >>> cheers,
> >>> michael
> >>>
> >>>
> >>> Michael Miller
> >>> Principal Software Developer
> >>> www.teranode.com <http://www.teranode.com>
> >>>
> >>>
> >>>
> >>> *From:* public-semweb-lifesci-request@w3.org
> >>> <mailto:public-semweb-lifesci-request@w3.org>
> >>> [mailto:public-semweb-lifesci-request@w3.org
> >>> <mailto:public-semweb-lifesci-request@w3.org>] *On Behalf Of *Tim
> Clark
> >>> *Sent:* Sunday, May 02, 2010 4:25 AM
> >>> *To:* HCLS IG
> >>> *Cc:* Anita de A (ELS-AMS) Waard; Annamaria Carusi; David Shotton;
> Carole
> >>> Goble; David R Newman; Matthew Gamble; Satya Sahoo; Jun Zhao; David
> DeRoure;
> >>> Michel Dumontier; Ted Liefeld; Alexander Pico
> >>> *Subject:* Reminder: Scientific Discourse Concall May 3, 10am EDT
> >>>
> >>>
> >>> Reminder: Scientific Discourse Concall May 3, 10am EDT
> >>>
> >>>
> >>> This call will be led by Sudeshna Das and will focus on the
> _Discourse +
> >>> Data + Experiment subtask_ - - integrating SWAN, myExperiment, MGED
> and OBI
> >>>
> >>> §  Dial-In #: +1.617.761.6200 (Cambridge, MA)
> >>>
> >>> §  Dial-In #: +33.4.89.06.34.99 (Nice, France)
> >>>
> >>> §  Dial-In #: +44.117.370.6152 (Bristol, UK)
> >>>
> >>> §  Participant Access Code: 42572 ("HCLS2")
> >>>
> >>> §  IRC Channel: irc.w3.org <http://irc.w3.org> port 6665 channel
> #HCLS2
> >>> (see W3C IRC page <http://www.w3.org/Project/IRC/> for details, or
> see Web
> >>> IRC <http://cgi.w3.org/member-bin/irc/irc.cgi>)
> >>>
> >>>
> >>> See http://esw.w3.org/HCLSIG/SWANSIOC/Actions/SWANmyExpArray for
> details
> >>> and background.
> >>>
> >>>
> >>> Best
> >>>
> >>>
> >>> Tim
> >>>
> >>>
> >>>
> >>
> >
> >
Received on Monday, 3 May 2010 22:35:06 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:00:58 GMT