W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org > May 2010

Re: Reminder: Scientific Discourse Concall May 3, 10am EDT

From: Tim Clark <tim_clark@harvard.edu>
Date: Mon, 3 May 2010 20:34:23 -0400
Cc: Michael Miller <mmiller@teranode.com>, HCLS IG <public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org>, "Anita de A (ELS-AMS) Waard" <A.dewaard@elsevier.com>, Annamaria Carusi <annamaria.carusi@oerc.ox.ac.uk>, David Shotton <david.shotton@zoo.ox.ac.uk>, Carole Goble <carole.goble@manchester.ac.uk>, David R Newman <drn05r@ecs.soton.ac.uk>, Matthew Gamble <matthew.gamble@gmail.com>, Satya Sahoo <satya_sanket@hotmail.com>, Jun Zhao <jun.zhao@zoo.ox.ac.uk>, David DeRoure <dder@ecs.soton.ac.uk>, Michel Dumontier <michel.dumontier@gmail.com>, Ted Liefeld <liefeld@broadinstitute.org>, Alexander Pico <apico@gladstone.ucsf.edu>
Message-Id: <C694F07D-4D39-4C19-AE98-3AE46A7F9899@harvard.edu>
To: Susanna-Assunta Sansone <sansone@ebi.ac.uk>
Hi Susanna,

Important for us to know the time frame of this replacement - I don't mind if we use - for example - MO short term and OBI long term, but I do want to assure that we can link properly to data we retrieve from ArrayExpress and GEO and / or other legacy resources.   Or for that matter, current resources.  

Would you and Michael possibly be able to participate in the next "Synthesis" call on May 17 to discuss?  It would be very helpful.

Best

Tim

On May 3, 2010, at 6:01 PM, Susanna-Assunta Sansone wrote:

> Hi Tim and all,
> 
> note that OBI replaces MO (terms from the latter are being decomposed/defined  -where relevant-and enclosed in the fomer).
> You'd better use OBI directly to avoid confusion.
> 
> Susanna
> 
> Tim Clark wrote:
>> I stand corrected and will use that terminology in future.  Thanks Michael.
>> 
>> Tim
>> 
>> On May 3, 2010, at 11:00 AM, Michael Miller wrote:
>> 
>>> hi all,
>>> 
>>> 
>>> it's the MGED Ontology, or MO.  MGED is a non-profit organization with many initiatives in the standards area, particularly MIAME, MAGE-OM (MAGE-ML, MAGE-TAB), in next gene sequencing, and MO.  we also have our upcoming yearly meeting in conjunction with ISMB in july.
>>> 
>>> 
>>> cheers,
>>> michael
>>> 
>>> 
>>> Michael Miller
>>> Principal Software Developer
>>> www.teranode.com <http://www.teranode.com>
>>> 
>>> 
>>> 
>>> *From:* public-semweb-lifesci-request@w3.org <mailto:public-semweb-lifesci-request@w3.org> [mailto:public-semweb-lifesci-request@w3.org <mailto:public-semweb-lifesci-request@w3.org>] *On Behalf Of *Tim Clark
>>> *Sent:* Sunday, May 02, 2010 4:25 AM
>>> *To:* HCLS IG
>>> *Cc:* Anita de A (ELS-AMS) Waard; Annamaria Carusi; David Shotton; Carole Goble; David R Newman; Matthew Gamble; Satya Sahoo; Jun Zhao; David DeRoure; Michel Dumontier; Ted Liefeld; Alexander Pico
>>> *Subject:* Reminder: Scientific Discourse Concall May 3, 10am EDT
>>> 
>>> 
>>> Reminder: Scientific Discourse Concall May 3, 10am EDT
>>> 
>>> 
>>> This call will be led by Sudeshna Das and will focus on the _Discourse + Data + Experiment subtask_ - - integrating SWAN, myExperiment, MGED and OBI 
>>> 
>>>   Dial-In #: +1.617.761.6200 (Cambridge, MA)
>>> 
>>>   Dial-In #: +33.4.89.06.34.99 (Nice, France)
>>> 
>>>   Dial-In #: +44.117.370.6152 (Bristol, UK)
>>> 
>>>   Participant Access Code: 42572 ("HCLS2")
>>> 
>>>   IRC Channel: irc.w3.org <http://irc.w3.org> port 6665 channel #HCLS2 (see W3C IRC page <http://www.w3.org/Project/IRC/> for details, or see Web IRC <http://cgi.w3.org/member-bin/irc/irc.cgi>)
>>> 
>>> 
>>> See http://esw.w3.org/HCLSIG/SWANSIOC/Actions/SWANmyExpArray for details and background.
>>> 
>>> 
>>> Best
>>> 
>>> 
>>> Tim 
>>> 
>>> 
>>> 
>> 
> 
> 
Received on Tuesday, 4 May 2010 00:34:58 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:00:58 GMT