W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org > June 2007

Re: [Obo-relations] FuGE, Ontologies, NINDS Microarray, GENSAT, ABA, and AD

From: Kei Cheung <kei.cheung@yale.edu>
Date: Wed, 06 Jun 2007 16:11:57 -0400
To: Trish Whetzel <whetzel@pcbi.upenn.edu>
Cc: "Miller, Michael D (Rosetta)" <Michael_Miller@Rosettabio.com>, William Bug <William.Bug@DrexelMed.edu>, "Smith, Barry" <phismith@buffalo.edu>, "Kashyap, Vipul" <VKASHYAP1@PARTNERS.ORG>, samwald@gmx.at, public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org, obo-relations@lists.sourceforge.net, Paul Spellman <spellman@bdgp.lbl.gov>, Shrikant Mane <shrikant.mane@yale.edu>
Message-id: <4667150D.1000902@yale.edu>

Hi Trish,

I agree with you.

-Kei

Trish Whetzel wrote:
> Hi Kei,
>
> This is really exciting to see someone talking about this. I mentioned 
> this idea last year to the hcls list and personally is a direction 
> that I wish mged was heading in for data mining, etc.
>
> Trish
>
>>> Before going into further
>>> detail about how to convert NINDS microarray data into OWL ...
>>
>> one item i was unclear on was what the scope of conversion of microarray
>> data into OWL you have in mind.  my take on this, as i said previously,
>> is that in MAGE and eventually in MAGEv2, the actual performance of the
>> microarray experiment and the results are captured in the XML schema
>> generated from the UML model.  there is also the ability to annotate,
>> using the ontology package, all the objects in the XML document.  it's
>> this annotation i believe can be easily translated into RDF or OWL,
>> based on the early version of the OMG Ontology Metamodel.  the rest of
>> the document is easily comparable with other documents at the XML or UML
>> level.
>
Received on Wednesday, 6 June 2007 20:12:11 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:00:48 GMT