W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-rdf-wg@w3.org > November 2011

Re: Turtle in HTML question/issue

From: Ivan Herman <ivan@w3.org>
Date: Wed, 16 Nov 2011 16:08:20 +0100
Cc: Gavin Carothers <gavin@carothers.name>, "Eric Prud'hommeaux" <eric@w3.org>, Manu Sporny <msporny@digitalbazaar.com>, W3C RDF WG <public-rdf-wg@w3.org>, Jeni Tennison <jeni@jenitennison.com>, Sandro Hawke <sandro@w3.org>
Message-Id: <AEADC6CC-AAF7-4345-901D-45B66359EDEA@w3.org>
To: Steve Harris <steve.harris@garlik.com>

On Nov 16, 2011, at 15:51 , Steve Harris wrote:

> On 2011-11-16, at 08:11, Ivan Herman wrote:
> ...
>> Sigh. You do have good arguments, although at present it is a pain to repeat all the prefix declarations. Ie, there would be no really smooth ways of using both turtle and RDFa in the same page, although I do see very legitimate usage for this (that is why I like it!). It has happened several times to me that the RDF I wanted to generate from an HTML file included a bunch of statements that are really not for display (this does happen with more complex vocabularies) and the current trick is to use a <div style="display:none> for this, and then encode things in a series of <span> which then resembles RDF/XML:-). Adding turtle in HTML is a very elegant way of solving this issue...
>> 
>> Ie: I am torn!
> 
> That solution is fine for you, as you know both RDFa and Turtle, but expecting/suggesting/making it easy for people to use two different RDF syntaxes *in the same document* seems crazy to me.
> 
> It's hard enough to explain RDF the multitude of syntaxes as it is, without suggesting that people use two at once.
> 
> <div style="display:none"> is a bit ugly, but at least it's well understood web web developers.

Ok, I take your point.

So I am fine withdrawing the @prefix stuff. I am still not sure about @base

Ivan

> 
> - Steve
> 
> -- 
> Steve Harris, CTO, Garlik Limited
> 1-3 Halford Road, Richmond, TW10 6AW, UK
> +44 20 8439 8203  http://www.garlik.com/
> Registered in England and Wales 535 7233 VAT # 849 0517 11
> Registered office: Thames House, Portsmouth Road, Esher, Surrey, KT10 9AD
> 
> 


----
Ivan Herman, W3C Semantic Web Activity Lead
Home: http://www.w3.org/People/Ivan/
mobile: +31-641044153
FOAF: http://www.ivan-herman.net/foaf.rdf
Received on Wednesday, 16 November 2011 15:05:53 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 16:25:46 GMT