W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-rdf-in-xhtml-tf@w3.org > January 2009

Re: Discussion with Ian and Henri about HTML5+RDFa (part 2/2)

From: Mark Birbeck <mark.birbeck@webbackplane.com>
Date: Mon, 26 Jan 2009 13:26:05 +0000
Message-ID: <ed77aa9f0901260526n37a94f22qef640c87052d236e@mail.gmail.com>
To: Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>
Cc: Dan Brickley <danbri@danbri.org>, Ben Adida <ben@adida.net>, Manu Sporny <msporny@digitalbazaar.com>, RDFa mailing list <public-rdf-in-xhtml-tf@w3.org>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@iki.fi>, Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>

Hi Julian,

>> By the way, how is RDFa's use of @rel not backwards-compatible?
>
> It will conflict with the use of full URIs.

Ah...you mean "forwards-compatible".

As Ben said in another email, some people have a personal preference
for full URIs, and no-one is going to say they shouldn't air their
views.

But given that at the time RDFa was created there was no HTML or XHTML
standard that used @rel to hold a full URI -- and there still isn't --
it can only create unnecessary confusion if this personal preference
is wrapped up an the false assertion that the RDFa standard has
somehow created a 'legacy problem'.

Regards,

Mark

-- 
Mark Birbeck, webBackplane

mark.birbeck@webBackplane.com

http://webBackplane.com/mark-birbeck

webBackplane is a trading name of Backplane Ltd. (company number
05972288, registered office: 2nd Floor, 69/85 Tabernacle Street,
London, EC2A 4RR)
Received on Monday, 26 January 2009 13:26:42 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 26 January 2009 13:26:42 GMT