W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-rdf-in-xhtml-tf@w3.org > January 2009

Re: Discussion with Ian and Henri about HTML5+RDFa (part 2/2)

From: Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>
Date: Mon, 26 Jan 2009 14:07:03 +0100
Message-ID: <497DB577.9080908@gmx.de>
To: Mark Birbeck <mark.birbeck@webbackplane.com>
CC: Dan Brickley <danbri@danbri.org>, Ben Adida <ben@adida.net>, Manu Sporny <msporny@digitalbazaar.com>, RDFa mailing list <public-rdf-in-xhtml-tf@w3.org>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@iki.fi>, Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>

Mark Birbeck wrote:
> Hi Julian,
> 
> I'm afraid it's the use of full URIs in @rel that is not backwards
> compatible, as I explained, since it makes every value, such as "next"
> or "foo", into a relative path.
> 
> That in itself wouldn't be a problem except for the fact that you
> can't have *both* predefined and user-defined values being relative
> paths against the same base URI.

You can, if you introduce a registry for the short names (such as the 
Atom feed format did).

> By the way, how is RDFa's use of @rel not backwards-compatible?

It will conflict with the use of full URIs.

BR, Julian
Received on Monday, 26 January 2009 13:07:50 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 26 January 2009 13:07:52 GMT