W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-rdf-in-xhtml-tf@w3.org > February 2009

Re: RDFa and Web Directions North 2009

From: Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>
Date: Wed, 18 Feb 2009 14:21:08 +0100
Message-ID: <499C0B44.7080301@gmx.de>
To: Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@iki.fi>
CC: Mark Birbeck <mark.birbeck@webbackplane.com>, Ben Adida <ben@adida.net>, Karl Dubost <karl@la-grange.net>, Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>, Kingsley Idehen <kidehen@openlinksw.com>, Dan Brickley <danbri@danbri.org>, Michael Bolger <michael@michaelbolger.net>, public-rdfa@w3.org, RDFa mailing list <public-rdf-in-xhtml-tf@w3.org>, Tim Berners-Lee <timbl@w3.org>, Dan Connolly <connolly@w3.org>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
Henri Sivonen wrote:
> ...
> An attribute called xmlns:foo cannot exist as an attribute in an API 
> that treats attributes spelled xmlns:foo as artifacts of the Namespaces 
> layer rather than attributes exposed to the application layer (e.g. XOM).
> 
> Also note that SAX2 in its most correct configuration doesn't expose 
> xmlns:foo as an attribute.
> ...

Yes. Understood.

I still do not understand the nature of the problem.

If you are in a namespace-aware environment (such as XOM, or something 
using the XPath data model, such as XSLT), then use the supplied XML 
namespace information.

If you are in an environment that doesn't know about XML namespaces, or 
doesn't support them uniformly (such as in the browser DOM because of 
HTML), use raw access to the xmlns:* attributes.

BR, Julian
Received on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 13:22:00 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 18 February 2009 13:22:00 GMT