W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-prov-wg@w3.org > April 2012

Re: actions related to collections

From: Paolo Missier <Paolo.Missier@ncl.ac.uk>
Date: Wed, 25 Apr 2012 11:36:40 +0200
Message-ID: <4F97C5A8.3010608@ncl.ac.uk>
To: Stian Soiland-Reyes <soiland-reyes@cs.manchester.ac.uk>
CC: Timothy Lebo <lebot@rpi.edu>, Luc Moreau <L.Moreau@ecs.soton.ac.uk>, Paul Groth <p.t.groth@vu.nl>, Satya Sahoo <satya.sahoo@case.edu>, "public-prov-wg@w3.org" <public-prov-wg@w3.org>
Stian

On 4/25/12 11:04 AM, Stian Soiland-Reyes wrote:
> On Fri, Apr 20, 2012 at 20:42, Timothy Lebo<lebot@rpi.edu>  wrote:
>> If it is not  too much effort, I would recommend introducing both. The
>> collection as the "abstract" class of Dictionary, and is defined for
>> "extension purposes".
>> Then, if the WG has appetite, we add prov:[Multi]Set. If not, then
>> prov:Collection just stands as an extension point and only has
>> prov:Dictionary defined.
> So the prov:Collection would just be an anchor point with no
> relations, except prov:Dictionary is a subclass?
yes

my personal view: everything else is something that we will only have time for in the context of a separate document, but most 
likely not in the rec.

-Paolo

> I would think memberOf() would be a minimum requirement for a
> prov:Collection to be useful - but that would raise question on how it
> relates to Dictionary memberOf().
>
> The simplest solution is that the simple memberOf() just says that an
> entity was a member of the collection - but nothing about how it got
> there (it is not a provenance relation, it is more of an attribute of
> the entity).
>
> Then both dictionary insertion and dictionary membership will imply
> the simple entity membership. (and dictionary removal could infer
> membership in the old collection - but I know that is a  bomb we don't
> want to defuse)
>
>
>


-- 
-----------  ~oo~  --------------
Paolo Missier - Paolo.Missier@newcastle.ac.uk, pmissier@acm.org
School of Computing Science, Newcastle University,  UK
http://www.cs.ncl.ac.uk/people/Paolo.Missier
Received on Wednesday, 25 April 2012 09:37:12 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Thursday, 26 April 2012 13:07:03 GMT