W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-owl-wg@w3.org > February 2009

RE: Last call comment - conformance/datatype map

From: Michael Schneider <schneid@fzi.de>
Date: Wed, 25 Feb 2009 07:31:19 +0100
Message-ID: <0EF30CAA69519C4CB91D01481AEA06A001071A22@judith.fzi.de>
To: "Alan Ruttenberg" <alanruttenberg@gmail.com>
Cc: "W3C OWL Working Group" <public-owl-wg@w3.org>
>-----Original Message-----
>From: public-owl-wg-request@w3.org [mailto:public-owl-wg-request@w3.org]
>On Behalf Of Alan Ruttenberg
>Sent: Tuesday, February 24, 2009 7:51 AM
>To: W3C OWL Working Group
>Subject: Last call comment - conformance/datatype map
>I believe that it is our intention that implementation specific
>datatype maps don't define behavior for, e.g. future datatypes added
>to XML Schema (or datatypes we have rejected). AFAIK, there is no
>proscription against this and I would like to have there be.

I am *against* explicitly forbidding any datatypes.

The RDF Semantics (D-Entailment = RDFS + datatype maps, to be more precise)
does not explicitly disallow any datatypes, and the same is true for both
OWL 1 Full and OWL 1 DL. I understand this to be intended: These languages
just define a core set of datatypes, and a basic framework which allows
implementers to add arbitrary custom datatypes, whenever this is useful for

Disallowing datatypes would mean for an implementer who currently sells an
RDF or OWL 1 system with some of the datatypes we forbid in OWL 2, that he
cannot upgrade his system to an OWL 2 conformant system without removing the
"bad" datatypes. This will hardly be acceptable for such an implementer and
his customers.


Dipl.-Inform. Michael Schneider
Research Scientist, Dept. Information Process Engineering (IPE)
Tel  : +49-721-9654-726
Fax  : +49-721-9654-727
Email: schneid@fzi.de
WWW  : http://www.fzi.de/ipe/eng/mitarbeiter.php?id=555


FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik an der Universität Karlsruhe
Haid-und-Neu-Str. 10-14, D-76131 Karlsruhe
Tel.: +49-721-9654-0, Fax: +49-721-9654-959
Stiftung des bürgerlichen Rechts
Stiftung Az: 14-0563.1 Regierungspräsidium Karlsruhe
Vorstand: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Rüdiger Dillmann, Dipl. Wi.-Ing. Michael Flor,
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. h.c. Wolffried Stucky, Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Rudi
Vorsitzender des Kuratoriums: Ministerialdirigent Günther Leßnerkraus


Received on Wednesday, 25 February 2009 06:32:07 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 6 January 2015 21:42:09 UTC