W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-owl-wg@w3.org > April 2008

RE: references to OWL 2 Syntax

From: Michael Schneider <schneid@fzi.de>
Date: Mon, 7 Apr 2008 23:04:45 +0200
Message-ID: <0EF30CAA69519C4CB91D01481AEA06A0803D06@judith.fzi.de>
To: "Sandro Hawke" <sandro@w3.org>
Cc: <public-owl-wg@w3.org>
Sandro Hawke wrote:

>I don't think "OWL 2 Specification" is a very good way to refer to "OWL
>2 Web Ontology Language: Structural Specification and Functional-Style
>Syntax".  That seems to suggest, to me, that the document is the
>specification of OWL....  Can we just call it "OWL 2 Syntax"?  

Well, that would then seem to suggest, to me, that the document is the
/syntax/ of OWL. :-)

It's the /functional/ syntax for OWL 2 /DL/. So

  "OWL 2 DL Functional Syntax"

would probably be the most obvious name, but it's perhaps a bit long as a
reference. Shorter would be:

  "OWL 2 Functional Syntax"

since it is clear that only OWL 2 /DL/ has a functional syntax. Or

  "OWL 2 DL Syntax"

because the primary syntax for OWL 2 DL is the /functional/ syntax. 

Further, in order to later avoid confusion with OWL 2 Full, the "OWL 2
Semantics" document should be referred to by

  "OWL 2 DL Semantics"

Analogue for the "OWL 2 /DL/ XML Serialization" document, which again is a
syntax for OWL 2 /DL/. In this way it will not be confused with the RDF/XML
syntax, which will be the standard serialization of OWL 2 Full's primary
syntax: RDF.

Btw: I do *not* mean that the /physical hyperlinks/ to these documents need
to be updated accordingly, neither in the Wiki nor elsewhere. This would be
a lot of work to do for no real win. So better just leave the hyperlink
names as they are.


Dipl.-Inform. Michael Schneider
FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik Karlsruhe
Abtl. Information Process Engineering (IPE)
Tel  : +49-721-9654-726
Fax  : +49-721-9654-727
Email: Michael.Schneider@fzi.de
Web  : http://www.fzi.de/ipe/eng/mitarbeiter.php?id=555

FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik an der Universität Karlsruhe
Haid-und-Neu-Str. 10-14, D-76131 Karlsruhe
Tel.: +49-721-9654-0, Fax: +49-721-9654-959
Stiftung des bürgerlichen Rechts
Az: 14-0563.1 Regierungspräsidium Karlsruhe
Vorstand: Rüdiger Dillmann, Michael Flor, Jivka Ovtcharova, Rudi Studer
Vorsitzender des Kuratoriums: Ministerialdirigent Günther Leßnerkraus

Received on Monday, 7 April 2008 21:06:10 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 6 January 2015 21:42:03 UTC