W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-i18n-bidi@w3.org > July to September 2010

Re: per-paragraph auto-direction, a.k.a. dir=uba

From: Aharon (Vladimir) Lanin <aharon@google.com>
Date: Sat, 25 Sep 2010 19:39:24 +0200
Message-ID: <AANLkTikXHd1y1uFgrYZSsvw5_VW20a9xyqo6bgB4G2Wd@mail.gmail.com>
To: fantasai <fantasai.lists@inkedblade.net>
Cc: Adil Allawi <adil@diwan.com>, Matitiahu Allouche <matial@il.ibm.com>, "Phillips, Addison" <addison@lab126.com>, Behdad Esfahbod <behdad@behdad.org>, Ehsan Akhgari <ehsan@mozilla.com>, public-i18n-bidi@w3.org, public-i18n-bidi-request@w3.org, Shachar Shemesh <shachar@shemesh.biz>
I think Adil was joking, but only to an extent. With AN digits, even in
dir=ltr, brackets, spaces, and hyphens all give problems - when the UBA is
actually implemented correctly. For example, 617-987-5432 in AN digits
(٦١٧-٩٨٧-٦٥٤٣) comes out in Chrome and IE8 and Firefox as 5432-987-617, even
in LTR. That's not every good... On the other hand, Notepad (at least on my
XP) takes liberties with the UBA, and does it the way you would want it,
with the area code on the left.

To get it to look how you would want it in a current browser version, you'd
have to use <bdo dir=ltr>.

Or, you can replace the hyphens with periods: ٦١٧.٩٨٧.٦٥٤٣ (yes, those are
periods...). Then it comes out that way even in RTL. However, I am not sure
if the relevant users actually use periods to format their phone numbers.

Aharon

On Sat, Sep 25, 2010 at 3:34 AM, fantasai <fantasai.lists@inkedblade.net>wrote:

> On 09/23/2010 10:34 PM, Adil Allawi wrote:
>
>> On 15/09/2010 11:40, Aharon (Vladimir) Lanin wrote:
>>
>>> Does anyone know if the plus logically appears before or after a phone
>>> number spelled in AN digits? Or is something other than the + used for
>>> the international prefix?
>>>
>>
>> Phone numbers written with Arabic numbers are ordered entirely left to
>> right, as if they are written with English numbers. Brackets, spaces and
>> hyphens "-" are also commonly used. This made producing my business card
>> an interesting challenge. Maybe we need a dir="phone_number" :)
>>
>
> Why wouldn't that be dir=ltr?
>
> ~fantasai
>
Received on Saturday, 25 September 2010 17:40:15 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Saturday, 25 September 2010 17:40:15 GMT